We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breitner House

Save Saved
You added Breitner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Breitner House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievably wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As with all the other reviews of Breitner House, there are only positive and wonderful things to say about our experience. But words do not, and cannot, do this place justice. It's simply indescribably fabulous in every possible way. Our room was the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in, complete with the most luxurious bed and bathroom I've ever seen. The dining room is so wonderfully lavishly decorated, that it's hard to imagine it gets better, until breakfast is served, and then forget what you thought you knew about a typical bed & breakfast. We saw photos of the breakfast which looked quite lavish, but it was the best, most indulgent, prosecco-filled breakfast I've had. And all of this isn't even the best part about our stay at Breitner House. Undeniably, Camilla and Guido were the most gracious, lovely hosts, who went above and beyond to make our visit there not just a visit, but a remarkable experience. It's very evident that they take an enormous amount of pride in the house, and making each and every stay a beautiful one. Just think about anything and everything you could possibly want while on vacation, and Guido and Camilla will have already thought about it. They are the most charming couple and we cannot wait to come back and stay with them again. 100% percent we will be back every time we stay in Amsterdam. If you choose to stay at Breitner House, you will not be disappointed. But don't treat this as simply a hotel stay...fully embrace the house, the hosts and you will have an unforgettable time at this absolutely perfect little place. Oh, and make sure your outgoing flight is late enough that you can fully enjoy an entire morning and afternoon...

Room Tip: We saw the other room, and by far I think the Breitner Suite is the most beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you a are looking for a beautifully furnished home with super friendly people this is for you. The breakfast is spectacular as noted by others, but the real plusses are Camille and her charming husband Guido. They bend over backwards to ensure your comfort; and go way out of their way to show you the profound Amsterdam, not the typical touristy places. A very pleasant stay that keeps Amsterdam one of my favorite cities to visit (food, museums, walkability, people, etc.).

Room Tip: Israel Room is ground floor with private garden - away from any street noise. Not in tourist spots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Breitner House excels in every way. The owners have thrown away the conventional rule book and re-invented their own style for accommodating and looking after guests which we just loved and found quite refreshing. If you are looking for a luxurious, elegant break that offers something quite unique and different compared to other 5 star establishments. A stay at Breitner House is simply an ‘experience’ that should not be missed. It’s quite an eccentric house with lots of personality and history made lovely and charming by the beautiful owners Camilla and Guido who made us feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. Our suite was the most luxurious room we’ve had the pleasure to stay in, topping our stay at the Ritz in Madrid. We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at Breitner House and the experience was magical. The champagne breakfast was delicious, exquisite and luxurious, all homemade. Our room had complementary fresh flowers throughout, drinks, wine, chocolates, snacks and toiletries. A stay at the Brietner House is simply an amazing experience. Thanks Camilla & Guido, we hope to see you again soon xx

Room Tip: Both suites are beautiful and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

words are supposed to explain feelings but in this case, it is just impossible to translate in words what you will be discovering and feeling at the Breitner House. Guido and Camilla are welcoming you with so much passion that you immediately feel at home. The suites are more than superb but beside the beauty, the atmosphere is so great that you even don't want to visit Amsterdam.
Don't even think of hesitating to go and discover the Breitner House !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Mordovia, Russia
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Drop what you are doing, stop looking at anything else and book a weekend here. Especially if you want a European weekend getaway, are a romantic at heart, and want to take your traveling experiences to the next level. Forget all the other fancy-shmancy hotels with big lobbies and cold rooms. This place has the heart, the charm, the taste (both in decor and nibbles) to make you think twice about staying anywhere else..ever.

Charming Guido and beautiful Camilla, tasteful art, decorations, food, stunning attention to detail in every step. The room upstairs has the most beautiful bathroom, the living room part of the suite is like a live version of a painting...I don't know how we managed to drag ourselves out of the house at all that weekend!

Before we left Camilla took me downstairs to her showroom - absolutely beg her to let you explore it, stunning jewellery and antiques, I loved being able to take a little piece of this place home with me.

I can not wait to come back, and I know we will need to book in advance because this will not stay a hidden gem for much longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For us it was the first time we went to a luxury hotel as a young couple. But we didn't regret every single penny we spend. We were overwhelmed with surpises and personal attention. Everything ranging from the beautifully decorated suites to the wonderfull personal service you recieve from two warmfull personalities Guido and Camilla that run the place is perfect. Our stay felt like we were living in a painting. Guido is a masterchef and the breakfast we recieved was stunning. We felt sad when we were eating, because we felt like we were destroying a piece of art. We came as guest and left as friends and we are sure that we will come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this nice BB for five days and really enjoyed ourselves. Camilla and Guido are excellent hosts. They are among the most lovely and gentle people that I know and we really became friends. Our room was decorated with fresh flowers and beautiful arts, with top to floor windows leading to a cute garden. Wine (red and white), coffee and sweet treats were refreshed daily. It was super quiet at night so we got good sleep. Nothing I could complain about. Oh, and the morning when we left was pouring heavily but Camilla got us a taxi to the airport with unbeatable price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitner House

Address: Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breitner House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most historical boutique hotel in Amsterdam: Breitner House. Staying at the park with our luxury suites we give you the highest service and unforgettable experience in an artistic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Breitner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.