We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mosaic City Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 16a, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Promotion Car Parking
Ranked #141 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Building: The hotel was built only a few years ago; but to reach my room I had to walk through the "courtyard" and this wasn't very nice in the morning with the fresh air...
Room: Although I had booked a normal "twin ensuite" (and not the small twin ensuite), the room was rather small. Rooms are essential but ok and very clean. Not very soundproof, I heard the people walking along the corridor. Showers without curtain or similar.
Location: a bit far from central station but close to the museums.
Other services: The staff is ok and you can have juice and the for free. They didn't answer a mail of mine.
Price: rather cheap (I paid around 50€).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    109
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
40
63
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I did find the hotel a bit hard to find, but once I was there I have to say I had a very enjoyable stay. I was only there for one night, and I'd booked very last minute (the day before), but the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and well presented, the beds were amazingly comfortable, and the area felt safe.
The only negative point was that they gave me the key to a room with someone still asleep in it; but to apologise they upgraded me to a triple room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel is very modern. The people are very friendly and made discount with parking! Only the room is a little cold but it's ok for a one night stay. Also they offer free coffe at the reception. They give a free city map and tell about what to do around.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam and stayed at the Mosaic. Calling this a hotel pushes the bounds of reality. The only thing place is suitable for is literally if you are a student or on a drunken stag night. If you expect anything better you'll be disappointed. As for security, ring the door bell on the ground floor and the door entrance to the block is opened then its straight up to the entrance door of the room. As you can see from the pic its extremely cramped for 3 people.

No way would we go back there.

Room Tip: Best advice I can give is keep walking past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited on 28th October 2013. Despite previous reviews the hotel was easy to find and had very good security. The neighhbourhood felt very safe especially when travelling with children. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful offered us free tea and coffee upon arrival. We had a triple room which was very clean with very comfortable beds. The only downside was the wet room which although it was very modern everything within it got vey wet when the shower was used.
Overall I would have no hesitation recommeding or returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Was one of my worst hotel experiences in my life. Arrived at 9.30 pm and wanted to check in. They told me that I arrived too late and that no rooms were available (although I booked through hotel.com which confirmed to me that they must hold the room until 10pm). They sent me to a totally run-down hotel nearby which which I would not recommend to my worst enemy !! Wanted to speak with the manager of Mosaic which seems to be the owner, a Chinese guy. The whole day he wasn't available. The next night I slept at Mosaic and found a very dirty room, a foam mattress where you sleep like a banana. And on top of it there is a smell of humidity in the room. Booked for 3 nights but checked out a night before. Be aware that most good reviews possibly had been made up by people close to the owner. Never happened to me before, but impression on Trip adviser totally wrong with reality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This ,operate priced, clean, comfortable hotel is walking distance to many museums, attractions, good restaurants and taxis cruise by all the time so you can catch one easily. We had a small but very nice room, good shower, friendly and helpful staff. We walked to Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum, canal boat tour, many good restaurants. Give it a try if you are looking for a bargain in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mosaic City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 16a, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mosaic City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mosaic City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mosaic City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.