We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggles to be a downmarket Travel Lodge” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mosaic City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 16a, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Promotion Car Parking
Ranked #138 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Struggles to be a downmarket Travel Lodge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam and stayed at the Mosaic. Calling this a hotel pushes the bounds of reality. The only thing place is suitable for is literally if you are a student or on a drunken stag night. If you expect anything better you'll be disappointed. As for security, ring the door bell on the ground floor and the door entrance to the block is opened then its straight up to the entrance door of the room. As you can see from the pic its extremely cramped for 3 people.

No way would we go back there.

Room Tip: Best advice I can give is keep walking past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    30
    13
    20
See reviews for
32
56
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited on 28th October 2013. Despite previous reviews the hotel was easy to find and had very good security. The neighhbourhood felt very safe especially when travelling with children. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful offered us free tea and coffee upon arrival. We had a triple room which was very clean with very comfortable beds. The only downside was the wet room which although it was very modern everything within it got vey wet when the shower was used.
Overall I would have no hesitation recommeding or returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Was one of my worst hotel experiences in my life. Arrived at 9.30 pm and wanted to check in. They told me that I arrived too late and that no rooms were available (although I booked through hotel.com which confirmed to me that they must hold the room until 10pm). They sent me to a totally run-down hotel nearby which which I would not recommend to my worst enemy !! Wanted to speak with the manager of Mosaic which seems to be the owner, a Chinese guy. The whole day he wasn't available. The next night I slept at Mosaic and found a very dirty room, a foam mattress where you sleep like a banana. And on top of it there is a smell of humidity in the room. Booked for 3 nights but checked out a night before. Be aware that most good reviews possibly had been made up by people close to the owner. Never happened to me before, but impression on Trip adviser totally wrong with reality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This ,operate priced, clean, comfortable hotel is walking distance to many museums, attractions, good restaurants and taxis cruise by all the time so you can catch one easily. We had a small but very nice room, good shower, friendly and helpful staff. We walked to Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum, canal boat tour, many good restaurants. Give it a try if you are looking for a bargain in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

So me and my Girlfriend Just got Engaged, so we thought: "Hey, let´s go to Amsterdam, that would be so great<3" so, we Booked this hotel, booked a flight, packed our bags, and Swooosh!, down To The Netherlands!

We are staying here for 5 days, today it´s tuesday october the 1.th, 10:pm,and this is our second day here. i want to wait, but i just can't because of the negative reviews..... This is the truth about hotel Mosaic!

Upon arrival, we struggled to find the entrance, this was our own fault, because we relied on a somewhat unstable gps, and we were very tired at that time, so that was our fault.

once we found the entrance, we were amazed that the Hotel looked so new and Modern, so we were very excited!

Upon our arrival in the reception, the staff was Very helpful, They spoke Excellent english, and made us feel more than welcome.

We had booked a small 2-man room, but to our amazement, we got a 4-man room without any extra charges! Just Fantastic!
We chose this hotel because of its cheap price, positive review and location.

And oh my gosh, i must say, this is beyond our expectations, this is the FIRST TIME i´ve ever arrived in a hotel room that actually looks like the photos on the website, if not even BETTER!

The room was in excellent condition, stylish, modern, and 100% quiet!
The beds... are.....AMAZING, so soft and gentle... made me sleep better than ever!

The bathroom, fantastic... The black tiled style really makes the bathroom special, and everything else is just.. well... perfect! no wait, far more than perfect!

The location, it´s also excellent, theres less than 3 minutes to walk to get to the trams, and these connect you to the city, apx 15 minutes to Amsterdam Centraal, and 3 minutes to Leidseplein, just perfect.

There is no breakfast Served in the hotel, but as soon as you are outside the hotel, there´s less than 2 minutes to Cafés, bars, shops, everything you could ever dream of, so this does not matter at all!!!

The hotel has a non-smoking policy, which they take quite seriously, we had to sign a "contract" before we received our key, and i highly appreciate this.Very Professional.

The room has a brand new Samsung smart tv, which is very easy to use, excellent picture quality, and if you have a smartphone, you can easily connect it to the screen to show photos, videos, anything you want, great for those late nights when you are browsing through your photos from your day in Amsterdam.

Seriously,This is the place to be if you are visiting amsterdam, and want an excellent hotel in the city centre for a reasonable price, if you book anywhere else... you are missing out!

This is THE hotel in amsterdam-centrum.


11 out of 10 stars!

Room Tip: Any room will do! They are Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drunen, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in a 4 person room with friends for one night. Check-in was fast, the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is rather new and modern. It's location is just outside the old center, but easily walkable to the main sights. Also if you walk to the center it is a walk through a nice area. Also close to Leidseplein and Vondelpark. If you don't want to walk, there is a tram stop within a few minutes walk (tram to/from Central Station). The hotel has only coffee/tea facilities, but there are plenty of places to eat and drink close to the hotel.

The room itself was not very big, but it was clean and modern with a pretty big bathroom. The beds are comfortable and for the price we've paid the room was really value for money. If you just need a decent and affordable place to stay, this is a good pick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Hotel was just outside the city centre in a quiet and pretty neighborhood - but walkable to all attractions (just watch out for the bike lanes!) We walked everywhere, the area felt totally safe and secure, the canals and the lovely flowers etc were beautiful sights along the way. The staff at the hotel spoke good english and were incredibly helpful showing us points of interest on a map, and any information we needed. They even printed out our next train ticket off our USB. The room itself, was basic. It was clean, smelt clean, the bed plain but comfortable. There is so much to see and do in Amsterdam we only used the room to sleep. If thats all you want then this is perfect. Good reasonable price compared to the centre, only around 8-10mins walking to main attractions, helpful staff and clean facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mosaic City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic City Centre

Address: Eerste Constantijn Huygensstraat 16a, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mosaic City Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mosaic City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mosaic City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.