We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sursee, Switzerland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pick somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't let the pictures fool you: this place is pretty low class. There was a hole in our bathroom wall, the TV only turned on and off by pulling the plug from the wall, and we could either turn on the lights or the fridge, but not both. Breakfast was pretty tasteless, and there was a long steep flight of stairs just to get to reception. The best part was the 5:30 am fire alarm that the staff couldn't figure out how to turn off. Bottom line - stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    25
    14
    26
See reviews for
10
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We only stayed here for a night and this hotel was just what we needed. Its location is great, everything is within walking distance!the room was clean and breakfast was included in the price. Overall you get what you pay for. It was one of the cheapest hotels we could find last minute and was not bad. The rooms are very small and the breakfast of medium rank but for a couple of nights in amsterdam it is ideal as you only need a place to sleep.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stayed in this hotel for 2 night with one of my friend. Checkin was very bad the receptionist asked for extra 19 Euro on account of city tax although my booking was all tax paid. Room was small barely able to even standup. The bathroom ends where it starts. The breakfast had very few choices and even the quality of food was bad. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a bad deal for this money although location is good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February 2015 and every night we heard scratching in the bedroom and on the last night we heard a bang, put the light on to find a mouse in the bin jumping about! We went to the reception to be moved rooms and when we went back in the room it had gone. There was a hole in the corner of the bedroom that the mouse had been coming in and out of. Disgusting. Also the walls are like caravan walls and it is impossible to sleep hearing doors opening and shutting throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Excellent location but the room was very shabby with black mould on the ceiling above the windows, broken and missing tiles on bathroom floor and the electrics didn't look safe. The staff were polite and helpful most of the time. the beds were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was basic but enough. This hotel was one of the cheaper hotels in Amsterdam and it showed.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The location of this hotel is superb. Breakfast was adequate although the room we ate in was also the reception.Rooms were very dated, old beds,windows,wardrobe, our bed side lights and television did not work. The bed however was comfortable and our shower was always hot.The staff were very friendly with the exception of one lady on Friday night who told us at 8 30pm if we sat in reception we would have to be quiet because she was working?! The previous night there were 3 young lads drinking litre bottles of vodka in there,she was also working that night?!Not suitable for people with mobility problems the stairs were very steep.Within walking distance of everything!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

The pictures that are in the description is definitely not as they are in the reality. The hotel is old but with the only one that it makes that hotel "good" is the location. just in the center. Tv dosent work, Just some time we hade hot water for shower, the receptionist actually I believe that he was the owner as I understand was very very root in many ways. The breakfast room have just 2 tables and as you can understand it can't served all the recidents and the breakfast was very very poor.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.