We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing good about this” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing good about this”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel for 2 night with one of my friend. Checkin was very bad the receptionist asked for extra 19 Euro on account of city tax although my booking was all tax paid. Room was small barely able to even standup. The bathroom ends where it starts. The breakfast had very few choices and even the quality of food was bad. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a bad deal for this money although location is good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    23
    11
    24
See reviews for
9
31
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February 2015 and every night we heard scratching in the bedroom and on the last night we heard a bang, put the light on to find a mouse in the bin jumping about! We went to the reception to be moved rooms and when we went back in the room it had gone. There was a hole in the corner of the bedroom that the mouse had been coming in and out of. Disgusting. Also the walls are like caravan walls and it is impossible to sleep hearing doors opening and shutting throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location but the room was very shabby with black mould on the ceiling above the windows, broken and missing tiles on bathroom floor and the electrics didn't look safe. The staff were polite and helpful most of the time. the beds were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was basic but enough. This hotel was one of the cheaper hotels in Amsterdam and it showed.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is superb. Breakfast was adequate although the room we ate in was also the reception.Rooms were very dated, old beds,windows,wardrobe, our bed side lights and television did not work. The bed however was comfortable and our shower was always hot.The staff were very friendly with the exception of one lady on Friday night who told us at 8 30pm if we sat in reception we would have to be quiet because she was working?! The previous night there were 3 young lads drinking litre bottles of vodka in there,she was also working that night?!Not suitable for people with mobility problems the stairs were very steep.Within walking distance of everything!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

The pictures that are in the description is definitely not as they are in the reality. The hotel is old but with the only one that it makes that hotel "good" is the location. just in the center. Tv dosent work, Just some time we hade hot water for shower, the receptionist actually I believe that he was the owner as I understand was very very root in many ways. The breakfast room have just 2 tables and as you can understand it can't served all the recidents and the breakfast was very very poor.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Its cheap, the location of the hotel is great and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are very small and quite dated. To charge your mobile phone you either had to use the adapter in the bathroom or the one on top of the wardrobe. The air conditioning was broken when we stayed and the temperature was in the 80s so trying to get a good nights sleep was difficult.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

GREAT location, clean room, good breakfast, small price. It is very close to RL district, but not there, close to Rembrant square, Dam square, central station and very easy to find (on main street- straight ahead from central station 5 min). There is a tram station just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.