We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location ever, close to everything, easy to find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
“best location ever, close to everything, easy to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

GREAT location, clean room, good breakfast, small price. It is very close to RL district, but not there, close to Rembrant square, Dam square, central station and very easy to find (on main street- straight ahead from central station 5 min). There is a tram station just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    19
    6
    17
See reviews for
8
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rostock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a year ago, and thank God only for 1 night! The pictures on the website are misleading. They are far far away from reality. I had a room on the 1st floor with a view of a brick wall and the room was so dark, dirty and dusty. I didn't wanna sleep on the bed sheet, didn't use the blanket either. Who knows when they washed it! The bathroom was so small and I could not even freely move in it. I didnt plan earlier to go to Amsterdam and all the other hotels were fully booked. Therefore it was my last choice, with price €120/night.
The staff seemed so unorganized, because at first she took us to a room where it looked occupied by someone because there were bags on the floor and shirts on the bed. She was confused so she checked again then finally she gave us our room which looked just as terrible as the occupied one.
My tip: Prepare earlier to book hotels in Amsterdam and do not choose this hotel. It is like a fraud: two stars hotel but looks like a half star hotel with price just as three stars hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Stayed here a few times now and can't fault the place.The rooms are basic but warm and cosy,clean towels every day,hot powerful shower and a flat screen TV with a few English-speaking channels.Breakfast is continental with loads of choice.There is always a member is staff working and you leave your key when going out,late at night the check your name against the room before handing out the key.The hotel is well placed to do any sightseeing with a tram stop outside the door,it's a 5min walk to dam square.Will use this hotel again the next time we return.x

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Before going to Amsterdam, my boyfriend and I read all of the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give this hotel a shot with not expecting it to be anything more than a good place to sleep. We were overall pleased and realized that most of the negative reviews had a lot larger expectations for a place that was a reasonable price and 2 stars. I thought our room was clean, good sized and great for 4 days. It also had a working heater and a good view, which was worth the "steep stairs." I'd say if you have a hard time with stairs then request a room on the first floor but we didn't mind being upstairs. The only thing I didn't love was that we had booked a double room so we could sleep together (instead of a hostel) and our bed was two twin beds pushed together with a sheet over them so it was kind of annoying at night. But, breakfast was good, most of the staff were so friendly (better than our friend's hostel down the road), our room was cozy and good for sleeping and the location was great. Definitely worth the money and a consideration if you're looking for a good, warm and safe place to sleep for a few nights!

Room Tip: This might not be the place for you if you have a lot of luggage, don't do well with stairs or w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

On October 8, tryed to stay at your hotel, but had problems with the reservation.

The room was dirty and without maintance and bathroom was out of order.

Please, notice, we didn´t buy a 2 star hotel, waiting for 4 star service. But the complains were that the room was dirty, with power cord exposed, and at some point during the night the bethroom was out of order.

We accapet that you sell promotional rates that are non refundable, for cancelation and changes. But, in this case, the menimum service (clean and safe) was not offered by your hotel.

Didn´t refound neither the nights that he didn´t stay, neither the city tax, charged directly on the credit card.

Sended several email´s (over 10 in a month) and no answer at all.

Today I called the manager (tryed other times, but she was neved there), and the final response was: "That´s how we run business"

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I can see here many negative ratings of this hotel, but I must say that having some experience of Amsterdam and its hotels, I was quite happy with this one! The prices in Amsterdam are in general high, and if you book something in this price category, it normally is not so great. I was positively surprised by the super nice staff and the clean (though simple) rooms. The best of all is naturally the location! I will definitely consider this hotel again, on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.