We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #266 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We were there in August and saw that the ratings were not the best but we thought we'd get a fair deal (price/quality). But we were wrong. We paid way too much, given the fact, that the only thing that was ok is the location of the hotel. And even that: Amsterdam is not that big to get around, so you're practically in walking distance from almost anywhere.
The rooms were clean, except the dirty windows, and the walls have seen better days (need some painting). We had a wet room (beadsheets i.g.), cause the wall was wet, probably because of the roof. Opening the window was not an option, cause of the pidgins outside lingering on the window sill.We had breakfast included but after 2 days we were already bored by the poor choice, so we ate outside anyway. The staff was friendly.
But i cannot and wouldnt recommend the hotel and the only reason i'd sleep there again is if I had to sleep on the street instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    14
    6
    14
See reviews for
8
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

This was booked for three nights and chosen for its location. When they wanted payment at the hotel up front we should have known. €150 a night for our three bed room. After walking up 3 sets of incredibly steep steps we made it to room 319. All I can call it is a dark and dingy prison cell. The view was of a brick wall which let no natural light in we didn't know when it was day or night!! the shower had to be held by hand, there were remnants of the last occupants in the drawers and mattresses and blanket stained with who knows what!!! The breakfast consisted of curled sweaty cheese and overdone eggs. This really was very poor value for money and I would not recommend it at all. There are nearby hotels in other areas which can only be better than this. Don't let the location draw you here.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

Clean, safe and good location. Very easy to reach from Amsterdam centraal by tram, just two stops. It's small double room with private bathroom, quite enough for a couple also a simple sweet breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egersund, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 Nights at the hotel. The hotel standard is simple, quality of the rooms very simple, but picked the hotel due to its convenient location.
Simple and OK breakfast, easy check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The hotel and their service was really terrible.They have my moeny stolen. Don t come to this hotel. They are unfriendly and hotel is dingy dirty and ugly. I don t recommend it. I was unsatisfied and I anuled the reservation and the cherge moeny from my creditcard. Terrible, they are thiefes

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Perfect location, walking distance to all of Amsterdams major sites.
A very friendly staff and ok breakfast.
Rooms very small but cozy and clean. All in all a positive experience.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.