We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5/10” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #243 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
5
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torun, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel and their service was really terrible.They have my moeny stolen. Don t come to this hotel. They are unfriendly and hotel is dingy dirty and ugly. I don t recommend it. I was unsatisfied and I anuled the reservation and the cherge moeny from my creditcard. Terrible, they are thiefes

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location, walking distance to all of Amsterdams major sites.
A very friendly staff and ok breakfast.
Rooms very small but cozy and clean. All in all a positive experience.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basically the only thing good about this place is location. Tiny room so small that I had to move my suitcase everytime I wanted to use the bathroom or leave the room. Bathroom door wouldn't lock. Tv's but no remotes. Staff would not print our boarding passes even if we emailed them to them, we're told the manager doesn't like it. Spent 3 hours looking for a Internet cafe after being led in the wrong direction countless times by staff and finally got them printed. Never heard of a hotel making it so hard was such a hassle. Would never stay here again. Steep stairs no lifts I don't no how I'll get my suitcase down them yet..... No aircon extremely hot, power sockets couldn't get to because beds were in the way when we moved the beds they didn't work anyway. Windows wouldn't close and construction work going on outside our room very loudly.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room here there tiny and uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Maddi,

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

Our rooms are basic but functional. We can understand that when you travel from Australia you arrive with big suitcases as you travel to more cities than just Amsterdam. Our rooms are sized according to the rules and regulations for a 2 star hotel in the Netherlands. We can imagine that a big suitcase gets in the way in the room you stayed at.

You arrived in Amsterdam at a very hot period. Amsterdam is in general not build for temperatures of 30 degrees celsius and up. The building the hotel is situated in is more than 400 years old. As the building is a monument we cannot put airconditioners inside our rooms as well as an elevator in our hotel.

Regarding making prints of boardingpasses: This is a rule at our hotel. We only make prints for businesspurposes. Perhaps you can print your boardingpasses next time at home in order to avoid the hassle of looking for a place to print your boarding passes.

Also, there has been construction going on outside the hotel for around 10 years now because of a new subway line, this is out of our hands as this is something that the municipality of Amsterdam is responsible for.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really good location - 5 min walk from dam square and can walk to everything else (cafés, bars, nightlife, red light district, canals etc) Was also able to walk from amsterdam central train station to the hotel which made getting to and from the airport cheap & easy. No air con in our room which wasn't ideal as the weather was hot but had a very clean room. Stairs are pretty steep but most places in amsterdam will be the same. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very clean and with all you need just to enjoy the city. The rooms are real small but if you are loking for a place with good shower and bed you will find it. Little noise in early evening but nothing that going to make your time unpleasure. Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Fernando,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We enjoyed your stay as well.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

With kind regards,
The Management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location was perfect, central to walk almost everywhere and a tram stop in front for farther excursions. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than ample and good. The only draw back was the steps- and that is just a part of old Amsterdam. My two teenage daughters and I shared a triple room and it was clean and had enough room for us. We felt very safe in the location and the neighborhood. Good shopping and restaurants everywhere in immediate area. The price was good for Amsterdam, but compared to Germany and Italy- very high

Room Tip: Get the lowest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Debbi,

Thank you very much for your review. We were happy to have you as our guests.

We were happy to read your feedback. As you probably noticed our hotel is situated in a very old building. Over 400 years old even and the building is a monument. The stairs at our hotel are also that old and for Amsterdam not so steep and luckily without curves.

Please feel free to come back to our hotel when you visit Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.