We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff, ok breakfast and room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, ok breakfast and room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is very nice near one of the canals. The staff is also friendly. The breakfast isn't exactly amazing but it's ok, there is choice from some things. There is no curfew, someone is always at the desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SennaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the future.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location was good hotel is on the Main Street close the few attractions Amsterdam has. Room was clean. Breakfast was basic. It was difficult getting our luggage up the steep steps. Room was a good size and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The hotel is situated in a 400 year old building. This is the charm of our hotel. Therefore the entrance is of a typical building in Amsterdam, with the typical stairs.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back at our hotel.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend,
excellent base location for exploring the city. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms basic but with all you need. Fresh food at breakfast for a good start to the day. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Lottie,

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked our breakfast.

We hope to welcome you in the future back at our hotel.

With kind regards,
The Management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Location is perfect. Between Dam and Rembrandt, right in the center. Rooms are ok, quite small and slightly worn out but comfy.

A bit noisy-they were drilling in the canal. No desk, so to work I had to sit on bed and it was weary... but if you just want a bed to crash and some food to get you started, it's more than enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agarratequevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

As you noticed our hotel is in the middle of the city centre. As Amsterdam is a very busy city and because of our central location, outside noises unfortunately cannot be eliminated completely.

Because we are a 2 star hotel we indeed offer basic facilities and we do our very best to offer all our guests a nice stay at our hotel.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and to be honest it was fine. The stairs are a killer but I didn't mind the work out. The staff are pretty friendly and helpful. View we had from our room 316 was really lovely. The location was brilliant. Can hear a lot at night time but you expect that anyway. Rooms got a bit cold at night and not every double room is guaranteed a double bed. Fine if your looking for something Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrenmeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Me, my sister and her boyfriend stayed in Hotel Ajax 2 nights. The service was very good, staff was very friendly. The reception desk is of course open 24 hours. The room was quite expensive, but we booked the room the day we arrived and that was really busy weekend in Amsterdam. Hotel is placed in the city center so it is very close to pubs, restaurants.
I found only 2 disadvantages.
1) Rooms are really small and cramped.
2) To log in the Internet you have to do it trough the facebook. Then it asks you to agree with the facebook conditions.

Anyway I reccomend that Hotel to people who wants only sleep there and visit the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glizda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The place is dirty. The first room had two mice running about. The view from the window was a brick wall. We complained as they put us in a room at the front off the hotel, it was slightly better. My opinion the place needs shut down.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neepheid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#258 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#264 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#293 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#275 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#214 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing