We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ajax

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ajax to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ajax
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #262 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Il Gzira, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amsterdam style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

5 girls first Amsterdam visit back in April 2011... I booked this hotel as it was great location and not that expensive. When we opened the door we were facing stairs steep stairs and we got used to it as its an Amsterdam style. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good. Rooms not that much we could have got a better hotel with better rooms with that price now that I visited city twice. Though we never complained about anything...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    13
    6
    13
See reviews for
8
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

worst Hotel I ever had
It was the smallest room I ever had
It is loud aroud the clock
The room the toilet corner every thing ist dirty
and it is very cold
the personal is unfrendly it seam that ther was every day somone new at the counter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your reaction on Tripadvisor. We have read your review and would like to react on it. Your stay was over 1 year ago. Our hotel has changed very much since then. The size of our rooms is according to the rules and regulations of a 2* hotel in the Netherlands.

We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and service. Therefore we would like to ask you to get in touch with us.

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninhbinh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and friendly, location is close to center if town, rioms were clean and well presented. Price is right for what we recieved.We had a great time...............................................................................................



















Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your stay as well. We hope to welcome you next time you visit Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
The management of Hotel Ajax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

would definitely not recommend this hotel, rooms were small and dirty ,noisy and me and my partner were robbed while we were asleep and the hotel staff acted like it happened there alot but didnt want to help

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAjax, General Manager at Hotel Ajax, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to react on your review.

You write that you were robbed when you stayed in our hotel. Unfortunately you are not telling the whole story. You indeed stayed at our hotel. We have a camera surveillance system, that we looked at together with you as soon as you informed us that you have been robbed. Indeed we were able to see that someone entered your room very easily at night. It was also visible that you did not lock your roomdoor that night (and perhaps also not at the daytime). As you can understand, a corridor at a hotel is like a street. Anyone can walk through it and if the door is not locked, entering is very easy. We explained to you that when you do not protect yourself by using the provided security measurements that the hotel provided, we are not responsible and cannot be blamed for items that are stolen. We sent you the video recordings on the 19th of June 2013 at 15.38 o'clock that were made the previous night so you could use them for your report at the police office and for your insurance. We received a confirmation e-mail that you downloaded the video.
Opposite from what you write, this situation did never occur at our hotel at all before and after, fortunately. Our hotel is very safe. We have a video surveillance system and a receptionist 24 hours per day. As soon as the situation with you occured we took additional security measurements in order to prevent this situation in the future.

Our roomsize is according to the laws and requirements of a 2* hotel in the Netherlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel Ajax is comfortable, very nice, beautiful. The staff is wonderful and very helpful, i stayed here for over two weeks and spend my time in a comfortable way. I have a very high opinion about Ajax hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 208, it has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Me and two friends stayed at the Hotel Ajax from the 22nd to the 25th November 2013. After booking it we read some of the reviews and where slightly worried as the reviews did not sound too good! HOWEVER... when we arrived we where very pleased as the hotel was absolutely fine!

The staff are lovely and ever so helpful, which is all you can ask for. Plus there is always a member of staff at reception and they where always happy to help.

Okay so maybe the décor was dated and the rooms where basic but at the end of the day your in Amsterdam, you won't be spending your whole holiday locked away as there's too much to do. The beds where very comfy, and clean and we always had hot water so what's there to complain about!

The location is absolutely perfect! So easy to get around and right in the city centre. I would say that Its a perfect stay for a young group of friends, or even a young couple.

Staff - Lovely, and SO helpful
Rooms - Basic, but perfectly clean and liveable
Location - PERFECT
Price - GOOD, was definitely worth the amount we paid.
Would we stay again - YES definitely!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff were all very helpful, breakfast was simple but filling, the rooms are very small and it is noisy, but you are only there to sleep as there is so much to do in Amsterdam, and by the time you get to bed and the beds are very comfortable, you just go straight to sleep.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ajax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajax

Address: Rokin 104, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ajax 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is a two star hotel in the city centre of Amsterdam. It is centrally located between all of the tourist attractions including the Van Gogh Museum, the Anne Frank House and a wealth of pubs and discos. This family-driven hotel overlooks the Amstel canal and is beautifully located in the city centre, just between the two most visited squares of Amsterdam: Rembrandtsquare and Damsquare. When you are visiting a congress in Amsterdam you can reach the exhibition centre Rai and other meetingcentres easily by car, walking and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Ajax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajax Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ajax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;