We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good value and well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

About 10-15 mins walk from the central station, this simple hotel is well located. The single bedroom I had in the first floor was modern but fairly basic.

Breakfast was disappointing and lacked variety and quality.

Staff were friendly and I would probably be happy to stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in May. Location (near rail station) was terrific, and a good base for exploring the rest of the city by foot. Bed was comfortable. We had a room at the front, so there was street noise. Room was clean and use of space efficient. Shower and toilet clean. Elevator was minute (two people will just fit) but concierge used it to take our few bags to our room, while we used the stairs. Stairs are very steep (probably like all older buildings in Amsterdam) and not for the arthritic. Breakfast buffet had everything I needed for breakfast and more. Next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll stay there.
The other benefit is we arrived in the city (flew from Seattle) at around 10 am, and they happily looked after our luggage until check-in time, while we walked around trying to stay awake.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view, but are noisy. Consider taking ear-plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked this as not many options available when visiting for Netherlands v Wales match. Arrived at 9:00 am only looking to leave bags realising too early to check in. However our room was ready and we were able to check in and even invited to help ourselves to breakfast. Can't fault the welcome.

Room was in basement but not much room available in there nor in the shower room. However we were only looking for somewhere to sleep and perfectly adequate for that. Good shower and room clean.

Downsides to look out for - stairs are very steep, typical of Dutch buildings as we found similar in Anne Frank House. Basement room has very small windows and I would imagine room would be very stuffy in hot weather.

Breakfast was good but don't expect a 'hot' option. Hotel happy to keep bags secure on check out day so sight seeing could be carried out without luggage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank welshpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a little break away at the beginning of May.
We were very very impressed.
The hotel is walking distance from central station and just a short walk away from the main attractions of Amsterdam including the red light district and Dam square.
the staff were briliant very helpful and the room was excellent. we will deffinately be staying here again

thank you :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed in a small single room for 3 nights. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the breakfast served is very good with cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, breads, cereals, juice and coffee and the hotel is fairly central to most tourist attractions including the horticus botanicus gardens. There is also a hotel bar by reception which serves juices and very good coffee. Free wi-fi is available too.
There were also a few issues with the rooms:
1. The room I spent the first night in had no window meaning when the shower was used, the entire room steamed up. There was also no shower curtain, so the bathroom floor filled with water and I had to wait for a long time for it to drain away. The extractor fan did not seem to do a good job at removing moisture from this room. The duvet cover on my bed also smelt of awful body odour and I had to remove it from my bed before sleeping that night. Luckily the bedsheets and pillows were clean.
2. In the morning, I requested another small single room with a window and was very lucky that they had one available. This room was in the basement level with a window. It was quiet, bigger, had a bathroom and some storage space as well. I doubled checked the duvet cover before accepting it and it was fresh. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a shower curtain, but unfortunately it also smelt awful like it had never been washed and was about the grow mould.

Apart from the smelly duvet cover and shower curtain, my stay here was pleasant and these 2 issues could easily be resolved. The 3 star hotels that I have stayed in over in Eastern Europe have all been extremely clean and had no issues. Therefore to encounter these issues at this hotel was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: avoid the small single room that overlooks reception as it has no window and the ceiling is very low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

First off the hotel is in a great location. Close to amsterdam centraal and within walking distance of most things. To start with their is a tiny elevator that doesn't go to the top floor and only has room for one person. We were located on the 3rd floor and without warning had to climb 3 extremely steep staircases with 20kg suitcases. Beware that these stairs are not recommended for elderly people (which they do not tell you) and those who have bad legs and backs. We got to our room to find that it was incredibly small and squashed together you basically had to close one door to get into another. After looking around we found rubbish left in the cupboards that hadn't been cleaned up before we arrived. On the first night at 11pm when plugging a phone charger in, it caused a spark in the room and all the power went out in the whole hotel. The power was then fixed for the rest of the hotel but our room, after figuring out how to get ours back on, we tried plugging in the charger again (having been slightly re-assured that it shouldn't happen again) it did. Same scenario. We were then told there were no other rooms in the hotel for us to move in to, but after checking on the computer we were assured we would move to an upgraded room for the next 2 nights. (The rest of our stay). All & all this hotel is in a good location, with friendly staff. The main thing I would stress is the stairs, they are incredibly windy & steep. A big thank you to 
Max for helping us out with the power situation and managing the whole issue very professionally. (Max made sure the power for the other guests was fixed ASAP).

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ant3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms are newly done hence the bathroom as well as the room furnishing is fine and the size is also okay. Reception is managed efficiently 24 hrs. The main problem was we had to climb up two floors with the luggage while the stairs were narrow and steep.

The room did not have any view, windows opened into a narrow courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divyat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel
City Hotel
#135 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Library
Hotel Library
#206 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#205 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing