We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, couple of issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay, couple of issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First off the hotel is in a great location. Close to amsterdam centraal and within walking distance of most things. To start with their is a tiny elevator that doesn't go to the top floor and only has room for one person. We were located on the 3rd floor and without warning had to climb 3 extremely steep staircases with 20kg suitcases. Beware that these stairs are not recommended for elderly people (which they do not tell you) and those who have bad legs and backs. We got to our room to find that it was incredibly small and squashed together you basically had to close one door to get into another. After looking around we found rubbish left in the cupboards that hadn't been cleaned up before we arrived. On the first night at 11pm when plugging a phone charger in, it caused a spark in the room and all the power went out in the whole hotel. The power was then fixed for the rest of the hotel but our room, after figuring out how to get ours back on, we tried plugging in the charger again (having been slightly re-assured that it shouldn't happen again) it did. Same scenario. We were then told there were no other rooms in the hotel for us to move in to, but after checking on the computer we were assured we would move to an upgraded room for the next 2 nights. (The rest of our stay). All & all this hotel is in a good location, with friendly staff. The main thing I would stress is the stairs, they are incredibly windy & steep. A big thank you to 
Max for helping us out with the power situation and managing the whole issue very professionally. (Max made sure the power for the other guests was fixed ASAP).

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    92
    30
    24
See reviews for
25
93
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Rooms are newly done hence the bathroom as well as the room furnishing is fine and the size is also okay. Reception is managed efficiently 24 hrs. The main problem was we had to climb up two floors with the luggage while the stairs were narrow and steep.

The room did not have any view, windows opened into a narrow courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is within walking distance to the train and Metro stations. We had a flight of stairs to walk up because of where our room was located but that was ok. They do have an elevator. The breakfast had variety with some protein: cheese, two kinds of meat, and hard boiled eggs. The desk is manned for 24 hours a day.They were very attentive and most helpful. Wifi was available only in the main public areas. It was free and worked fine. It was on a very busy street but our room was in the back and so the noise did not bother us at all. I loved that this room had tons of plug in and they were in great locations. We have found this a problem in older hotels in Europe.I was pleased with my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Apparently it is a very busy time in Amsterdam right now. My recent college grad daughter and friends are travelling through Europe and had difficulty booking a room in Amsterdam. She had no idea how busy a time it is right now! But City Hotel Amsterdam responded to her request for a room but indicated upfront it would be in the basement. The girls were fine with that and appreciated the heads up. It was literally the last room in Amsterdam. They were very happy and booked their flights in and out accordingly. However, the day before they were leaving for Europe they got an email cancelling the reservation. (have literally never had a hotel cancel on me!) If there were alternatives to be had easily, this wouldn't have been a big deal, but we already knew from weeks prior how difficult it was to find a room... we were looking at hostels, hotels, vrbo, apartments and we had 3 different travel agents looking for anything under $200/night- which is a lot compared to what they are paying on the rest of their travels... The hotel tried to be a little helpful but didn't quite feel it was their obligation to find them comparable accommodations. When a nicer room became available for a higher price, they actually wanted to charge us the higher price which I found outrageous. They were the ones that were completely cancelling on us, leaving us in a big bind. I felt they should have done more to help us out and certainly if a room became available, not charge us more!! It was only for the 2 of 3 nights needed so it wasn't helpful and caused us to spend the entire day before they were leaving again on the phone, on the computer looking for a room. It was very stressful as the girls were not going to be able to easily work on this while they were travelling and needed to know that they had a place before they got to Amsterdam. To cancel and change their flights etc would have been costly. Fortunately, they found an apartment that was comparably priced that worked out perfectly. In fairness, I have to say that the next day we did get an email saying a triple opened up. By then, they were on the plane and had spent an anxious 12 hours on the phone/computer trying to secure another place to stay. Needless to say, they did not choose to stay at this hotel. Even other hotels in Amsterdam felt they should have done more to accommodate them if the room really wasn't available as promised. The call should have been... we are sorry to cancel, but we have secured you reservations at this comparable or nicer place nearby.... Fortunately all turned out well, the apartment on the canal was fabulous and they had a great time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very good location close to the train station, all places interest within easy walking distance. Room was small, but had all basic amenities (well, it could use a shelf for the toiletries). Breakfast was all right – boiled eggs, all you need to make sandwiches, cereals, fruit salad. Staff very helpful. Tours available at a discount, or at least you get to skip the ticket line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my hen party of 23 girls, its in a perfect location within walking distance of central station, Dam Square and RLD. Rooms were cleaned everyday and breakfast though not a huge selection was still fresh and tasty. Due to numbers we were split over various rooms including the apartments (sleep 6 though our rooms were messed up therefore did sleep 7) which were excellent, would highly recommend if you are in a big party as very spacious even with 7 beds and equipped with 2 bathrooms and kitchen area. Lobby/bar area and breakfast area aren't overly large but enough for a meeting point before heading out to see the sights. All staff were friendly and helpful, I do not believe we had any complaints against us for noise. The hotel has no lifts though this did not cause any problems for us but to note if you do have difficulty with stairs to ensure you request a low level room.
If you are visiting Amsterdam in a large party (hen/stag) weekend I would highly recommend hiring a beer bike and an organised bar crawl, this helped kick start the day and also take you to bars which you may not necessarily find on your travels, in a city you can sometimes wonder for hours looking for fun places to go
I would also recommend taking a hotel business card (on reception desk) to show taxi drivers the address as they kept telling us there were many 'city hotels'
Would definitely return to this city and use this hotel thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and HotelsNL so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.