We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great hotel near to the train station and the red light district. Rooms were comfy and warm with good, clean facilities. Staff were very helpful and it was surprisingly cheap considering the location and facilities.

Room Tip: 9 of us stayed here and some of the rooms were a bit small but our twin room was fine. The stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this hotel. Arrived at 09:00am and they gave us a room straight away even though check in time is usually 14:00...even told us to help ourselves to breakfast since the buffet was still out. Within walking distance of everything and right beside the train station. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Let us leave our bags in storage before we left as we had time to kill before we had to catch our train. Very accommodating and friendly staff

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shenuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ridiculously expensive for what it is. We got a room in what was literally a basement. Horribly cold, no soap or tooth paste or anything. It might as well have been a hostel.
The wifi was suuuuuuper slow and only available in the lobby. The only good point was location, right by Central Station.

Room Tip: dont get the room downstairs! horribly cold and no light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jime2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Recently renovated, but shabby. The bathroom was cold. Steep stairs and no lift. Modest breakfast. We had a beautiful view from the window on the neighboring rooftops. Friendly staff. 10 minutes to the train station and the city center. Budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KareninaAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had booked a late trip to Amsterdam with friends, who had booked before me. I had to find somewhere to stay, away from them, as there hotel was now too expensive. I searched with only two weeks to go and found this hotel. It was near all the Central attractions. Near to the Station and close to my friends. Above all it was reasonable ( for Amsterdam ) and no shared facilities.
When I arrived at the hotel, I was given my single room straight away. What I found was a clean, modern, reasonably spacious room. Perfect for my needs. I didn't really use the communal areas as I was out all day. From what I could see, these were clean and functional. Breakfast was typical Dutch/ continental serve yourself, it was fine. The guy on the desk was very helpful, and even lent me his IPhone charger. All in all I would stay here again, no worries.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Conor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel
City Hotel
#147 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,622 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing