We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Book a double superior room although was traveling solo as that was the cheapest room with attached bathroom available then. Therefore the room is quite spacious, though slightly costly. Read about the steep staircase but very fortunate was given a room at ground floor - many plus point for this. Greeted by super friendly staff Ismail and Marx - very helpful and gave an overview of the city and suggestions of sightseeing. There is no coffee making facility in the room, but can ask for boiled water from the small bar which allow me to make some hot drink after a cool, tiring city tour. Grateful for this. Bed was too soft and noise easily pass through the wall/door as others have commented, but overall able to sleep well. There is no daily room service though. TV offered quite a number of English channels. Breakfast provided a reasonable option of food choices. There is a locked buggage room to store luggage, and dear Ismail actually treated me with a departure drink before leaving. Thanks for that!

Room Tip: I found ground level room very convenient to me, but it can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    119
    126
    33
    27
See reviews for
34
144
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We're staying here on our last days of our trip on the 18th September for 2 nights.
We booked standard room and as all other hotels in Amsterdam centre, the rate is quite on the high side.

Hotel location is very convenient, only 5 - 10 minutes walk to Centraal Station and Damrak.

No parking space available at all in front of the hotel, even to unload our luggage we have to stop in the middle of the bicycle path.

We're greeted by a warm and nice guy at reception. After check in, he assisted us to carry our luggage to the room as there's no elevator in this hotel. Our room in the 1st floor was not really spacious and has a low ceiling (approx 1.8m) however it was nice and cozy as it seems that the room was just renovated with new toilet fixture and furniture.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, but not much selection of the food. Only 1 type of cold cut, 1 type of cheese, and there's even no yoghurt available on our first morning breakfast.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have low ceiling (approx 1.8m only) but easier to carry your luggage as the hotel do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The City Hotel in Amsterdam is a good stay for a night or two if on a budget, as it was the cheapest hotel available in Amsterdam (with a bathroom) at the time we went ahead and booked it! The location is brillant right in Rembrandt Square and very close to all restaurants and bars and within walking distist to the Anne Frank Museum.

Upon arrival we were greeted to a huge flight of stairs, but these is the norm in Amsterdam unforuntely. After trailing our suitcases up the very steep stairs we were greeted to a very friendly and helpful member of staff who gave us our keys. The rooms are very small, but functional - the bed is comfortable. The TV is very limited (but then again who comes to Amsterdam to watch TV!?) most of them Dutch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

very friendly staff
very poor breakfast
building without a lift
overall it was a nice staying there, nothing realy extremly bad happend (except breakfast) and a very nice guy working at the bar, working afternoon







  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was there in august 2013. the hotel have a lot of "+":
1. a perfect location! It's near to railway station (near 10 min.) and it is situated in the city center!
2. the stuff is pleasant, kind,attentive
3. the room with a new and a nice furniture
4. a good price for a room if compare with other hotels
5. the brakfast inclided! I can't say that it is a very varity,but you can eat a toast, flakes, eggs and drink coffee/tea/juce.
6. hotel is located in a historical old building!

But there are two negative things:

1. the walls are thin. I've heard most of what my neighbors are doing.
2. on hotel's website there isn't information that room type "Standard Double Room" has a ceiling for people with a maximum height of 1.76 m. My height is 1.82 m. and I was tilted all the time.

But I like this hotel! It is very cute and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The City Hotel in Amsterdam is good for a night or two. The location is great just across the street from the central train station. The rooms are small but sufficient for Amsterdam as most of the time is spent out and about. It is similar to a hostel but each room has bathroom. Walking distance to many café bars restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had to stay there on business as that week overall occupancy in Amsterdam Hotels was very high due to the boat show and other events. The staff were friendly and obliging. I was given a room at the back which was just as well as there is no air-con in the rooms. To get to it I had to climb a couple of staircases. The room was functional - the bed was comfortable and there was an ensuite toilet and shower. The TV was very limited with less than 20 channels, most of them Dutch. I had to leave the window open due to the temperature and there was quite a bit of noise from outside until almost midnight - then it was fine. The breakfast was average and there was no fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front side of the hotel to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.