We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short trip!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine for a short trip!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The City Hotel in Amsterdam is a good stay for a night or two if on a budget, as it was the cheapest hotel available in Amsterdam (with a bathroom) at the time we went ahead and booked it! The location is brillant right in Rembrandt Square and very close to all restaurants and bars and within walking distist to the Anne Frank Museum.

Upon arrival we were greeted to a huge flight of stairs, but these is the norm in Amsterdam unforuntely. After trailing our suitcases up the very steep stairs we were greeted to a very friendly and helpful member of staff who gave us our keys. The rooms are very small, but functional - the bed is comfortable. The TV is very limited (but then again who comes to Amsterdam to watch TV!?) most of them Dutch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    80
    87
    27
    24
See reviews for
24
85
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

very friendly staff
very poor breakfast
building without a lift
overall it was a nice staying there, nothing realy extremly bad happend (except breakfast) and a very nice guy working at the bar, working afternoon







  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was there in august 2013. the hotel have a lot of "+":
1. a perfect location! It's near to railway station (near 10 min.) and it is situated in the city center!
2. the stuff is pleasant, kind,attentive
3. the room with a new and a nice furniture
4. a good price for a room if compare with other hotels
5. the brakfast inclided! I can't say that it is a very varity,but you can eat a toast, flakes, eggs and drink coffee/tea/juce.
6. hotel is located in a historical old building!

But there are two negative things:

1. the walls are thin. I've heard most of what my neighbors are doing.
2. on hotel's website there isn't information that room type "Standard Double Room" has a ceiling for people with a maximum height of 1.76 m. My height is 1.82 m. and I was tilted all the time.

But I like this hotel! It is very cute and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The City Hotel in Amsterdam is good for a night or two. The location is great just across the street from the central train station. The rooms are small but sufficient for Amsterdam as most of the time is spent out and about. It is similar to a hostel but each room has bathroom. Walking distance to many café bars restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had to stay there on business as that week overall occupancy in Amsterdam Hotels was very high due to the boat show and other events. The staff were friendly and obliging. I was given a room at the back which was just as well as there is no air-con in the rooms. To get to it I had to climb a couple of staircases. The room was functional - the bed was comfortable and there was an ensuite toilet and shower. The TV was very limited with less than 20 channels, most of them Dutch. I had to leave the window open due to the temperature and there was quite a bit of noise from outside until almost midnight - then it was fine. The breakfast was average and there was no fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front side of the hotel to minimise noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The City Hotel Amsterdam is very centrally located. About ten minutes from the train and the red light district. The room was small, with low ceilings but everything worked and for the price this is a great place for a few nights!

The breakfast was reasonable with cereal, breads and spreads as well as facilities to toast.

The receptionist Ismael was a great help supplying us with the information we needed to catch the train out to see the windmills. He even told us the train platform.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.