We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, but nothing else...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but nothing else...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Perfect central location. The interior reminded me of soviet design. Very clean. Extremely friendly and helpfull staff. Good choice if you are looking for value for money, but need a room only for sleep after a good party night. I don't think to visit the hotel again untill they do a reffurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    123
    132
    33
    27
See reviews for
37
150
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The woman at reception is SO rude! she had a bad attitude and was really unhelpful! The location is good, however not the cleanest of places

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Okay for a budget hotel, but the sheets were not very clean and the blanket had holes in it. A bug crawled out of the sheets before I went to sleep - it was too big to be a bedbug so I didn't care too much.The bathroom was clean. The place smelled like smoke but my room did not. Breakfast was included and was okay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

we stayed in an apartment for 6 people.

* good- location, very central , close to the clubs ,bars , cofee shops, shopping, spacios, nice furniture, nicely decorated rooms

* bad- extremely noice at night as the bars are downstairs and music is so loud its imposible to sleep, late check in , no mirrows (1 little mirrow in bathroom and very little mirrow in the living room ) ,

Room Tip: wherever you decide to sleep you wont run away from the noice at night -unfortunately it comes from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had read quite a few negative reviews on this hotel and I admit I was expecting the worst. I was pleasantly surprised though. This was located within easy walking distance to Central Station and all the other "attractions" the city has to offer. I paid 35 Euros for the night, this was for a twin room sharing and a breakfast of bread, the smallest boiled egg I have ever seen and a couple of slices of ham and cheese. Not brilliant, but very welcome after a heavy nights drinking. The room was a tad smelly, but I told the guy on reception and it was sorted by the time we got back. It was clean and comfortable, the bathroom suite looked new and the room felt safe. I would use it again for a trip with my mates and would recommend for a budget stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is nice for the money. (About 70 euro per weekend night in Sept). Had two separate single rooms (two different stays, a week apart), both were very small and pretty old, but clean and for one night it was manageable. Bathroom was clean, but small. Be aware: the third floor is actually 4 floors up, and the staircase is narrow, spiral, very steep, and difficult to walk up carrying anything more than small luggage -- I had a 40 pound (18kg) bag, and it was very very difficult. Location is excellent - both for walking and public transport (about 15 minutes to walk to central station, pulling that bag).

Room Tip: Ground floor may be too loud; try the first floor (which is really one floor up from ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Terrible localization, good breakfast, clean room, I would go back there. The hostel is near the railways station and the center (7-8 minutes by foot).

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not localized on the main avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
No photo provided
City Hotel
#132 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#190 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,111 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.