We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a base close by all attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
City Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a base close by all attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Obviously for a 2 star hotel it was basic, but perfect for what we were after. A family with 3 children aged 7, 11, and 12. We booked a room for 5 people and got a type of apartment! As the twin beds were in a separate room to the 3 childrens beds. The childrens beds were up some very steep stairs ( well it is Amsterdam!) but they were good age to cope with this. Bathroom was clean, bedding was clean. Only 5 minute walk from station.
We hired bikes from Mikes bikes, which we had done in the past. VERY friendly company. Excellent tours.

Room Tip: No lift so only stay if you can walk up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    131
    138
    33
    29
See reviews for
42
156
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Pros: Nice stuff, 24 hours available on reception. Good price and located 10-15 minutes walk from the train station. They gave me double with large bed for single usage. Good enough breakfast.

Cons: Had to climb the 3rd floor by narrow stairs. A good exercise especially if you're traveling with heavy bags. Though, it seems it's a common thing in Amsterdam. Bad noise isolation. If neighbors coming late and are not smart enough to hold the door - it will bang loudly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed in a quadruple room which can fit 5 people, there are 3 single beds and a double bed. It is pretty basic - clean pillows, bedsheets, blankets and towels. Shampoo, soap and hairdryer was not provided though. However, in order to get to our room we have to climb through 3 flights of stairs to get to the top floor. The hotel interior was pretty old and needs refurbishment. Breakfast was simple with bread (not toasted!), a boiled egg, slices of ham and cheese, jams, butter and tea/coffee. The location was very good, just a few minutes' walk to Amsterdam Centraal station and close to Dam square and red light district. The staff were helpful and let us store our luggage in a store room before our check-in and after check-out. The hotel operates a 24-hour reception system so we were always allowed in on late nights (no curfew!). Overall, its relatively basic and simple. Would have liked it more if its cheaper as its a similar experience staying in a hostel (except City Hotel is more expensive!).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

OK, this hotel is very basic, and if you want to find faults then you don't have to look very hard for them. However it is clean, the staff are nice, it is very very cheap, and the location is ideal, a 2 minute walk from the station, far enough away to be quiet but you still have all the attractions on your doorstep. I took a 2 year old, 9 year old and 13 year old and it felt very safe and omfortable.

If your idea of a hotel in Amsterdam is a clean base to explore the city, which doesnt cost very much so you can spend your money on the attractions then stay here. If you expect anything more than a basic hotel however then spend more money.

I gave this hotel a 5 not because it is faultless, there are lots of faults, but because it met my expectations in every way. I knew what I had paid for and i got it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel is very basic but that is reflected in the price. the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. our room was at the back of the hotel so it was very quiet. we had our own bathroom in the room, not very common in amsterdam, which was clean with a great shower. the hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming and let us leave our bags there after checking out beacuse our plane back was later in the day. breakfast was included and it was basic but good. overall, great value for money especially with the included breakfast and own bathroom. beware of the very steep stairs but i think these are very common everywhere in amsterdam!
The main negative point is the room decor, very '70s' but not in a good way!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Great place to stay if your just lookin for a place to sleep and shower.
Clean rooms but in 1970s style
Great staff very helpful
Great location 5 min walk to station,10 min to red light district .and a great smoker friendly cafe just 2 min walk from hotel
Hotel is also smoker friendly
Will def be going back in the new year
10 out 10 for the price you paying can't compliane

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I was over for the Ajax v Psv game and stayed here for 3 nights. The only time i was in it was at night to sleep. There is a small bar which is open till 1 a.m if you fancy a drink.
Breakfast is included. Consists of toast, cheese, bread, tea, coffee etc. Nothing great, but it will get you started for the day.
Every member of staff i met was friendly.
The room was basic. Toilet & shower was tiny, but done the trick.
It's in a great location. 5 mins walk from the train station.
A tip to save on walking. Come out the hotel, turn left and take first left. Go straight on over the bridge and turn right after the small bar and walk straight on. This will bring you into the red light area for the bars etc. Saves on walking away round towards Damrak.
I would maybe try another hotel next time though.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
No photo provided
City Hotel
#122 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#159 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#203 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 130, 1011 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.