We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaap de Goede Hoop

Kaap de Goede Hoop
Overtoom 534, 1054 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 685 4043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #647 of 2,612 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: German, Dutch, Diner, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kaap de Goede Hoop is a very nice bar/restaurant at the Overtoom in Amsterdam! Just a few minutes away from Amsterdam Center and worth taking the trip for the good and payable meals and very enthusiastic staff. Our specialty....? German Schnitzel!
Somerset
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A great find courtesy of Trip Advisor. Lovely food in relaxed surroundings. The schnitzel was lovely as was the beefsteak. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I choose that place because of good reviews. Place is cosy, service is really excellent and famous schnitzel was freshly cooked. Portion is quite big. I recommend this place for those who stay in nearby Conscious Hotel Vondelpark.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable service, great atmosphere, excellent and wholesum food... especially the schnitzel variants (my favourite is the Cordon Blue). Getting a bit out of the center in order to get to it, is definitely worth the trouble.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No nonsense food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Kaap de Goede Hoop is a really welcoming, snug place for drinks and/or food. It serves its neighbourhood and a nearby hotel, so there is usually an entertaining mixture of eccentric regulars and visitors to people-watch. The best dishes are hefty schnitzel, burger and sate dishes - but healthier choices like soup and salads are also yummy here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We came upon this place thanks to tripadvisor. Staying just up the road in the Conscious hotel we wanted good food not too far away. Well we have found a little gem. We were greeted at the door by smiley, and happy Lisa and Stephanie.
English menus were presented swiftly, drinks were quick and we both ordered the schnitzel (me with extra salad no chips - a little change was no problem at all).
As we enjoyed our drinks and the atmosphere we could hear the chef banging out our dinner in the kitchen - not saying he was loud but I know that my dinner was definitely not from frozen.
Schnitzel presented on a large plate (and it took most of the plate up too) with my salad on an additional plate. My other half had the Pepper sauce that is suggested, it was thick and added just the right amount of kick to the dish.
We finished with an apple cake (home made) and ice cream with chocolate sauce. Delightful.

As we were paying for the bill (about 45 euro- including a few beers and cokes) we were treated to some little cookies that are Christmas treats, along with a little story about them.

Would I go again - YES! I want to go tomorrow, but they are closed on a Monday. So I will have to wait to next visit.
A must try only if you like genuine, warm,and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaap de Goede Hoop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kaap de Goede Hoop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaap de Goede Hoop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.