We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Screaming Beans

Screaming Beans
Hartenstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast with good quality coffee. Fruit juice is made blended fresh from the fruit - nice. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Recommend ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and friendly spot for coffee, tea and delicious sandwiches (try the "healthy sandwich"). Less a tourist spot then local but don't let that put you off, in fact it's s reason enough to get away from the backpackers. Good value, nice people, elegant Amsterdammers and nice food and beverage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the breakfast option and it kept us going for the 3 hour walking tour. Great coffee and excellent homemade marmalade.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cool place amongst the 9 streets with lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Server was very pleasant and attentive with particular attention paid to our fussy eating

Coffee was strong and very good and sandwiches were a nice stop off refuel during our miles of walking the canals

2 OJs. 2 coffees and 2 sandwiches was €26 (without tip) which may feel rater pricy however we found the atmosphere and clientele consistent with our tastes

Our hotel receptionist mentioned it - thanks to Canal House (see my other review)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's months later and I still remember how great this breakfast was! I had eggs, ham, cheese, and croissants, with fresh orange juice and a cappuccino, all at a reasonable price. The croissants were the best I've ever had, fresh, light, and flaky. The marmalade is made inhouse and absolutely incredible too! I wish I'd been able to buy some to take home with me. The staff were friendly and provided good service. I look forward to going back next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screaming Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Screaming Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Screaming Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.