We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Screaming Beans

Screaming Beans
Hartenstraat 12, 1016 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 626 0966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 2,472 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Coffee & Tea
Description: Located in the vibrant 9 straatjes we serve here since 2007, the best quality coffee. A place where locals, expats and tourists gather to enjoy casual manner of the personal attention that they are welcomed by our passionate baristas. Make sure to try once our delicious offerings breads and pastries!
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great breakfast with good quality coffee. Fruit juice is made blended fresh from the fruit - nice. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    39
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Recommend ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant and friendly spot for coffee, tea and delicious sandwiches (try the "healthy sandwich"). Less a tourist spot then local but don't let that put you off, in fact it's s reason enough to get away from the backpackers. Good value, nice people, elegant Amsterdammers and nice food and beverage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the breakfast option and it kept us going for the 3 hour walking tour. Great coffee and excellent homemade marmalade.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Cool place amongst the 9 streets with lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Server was very pleasant and attentive with particular attention paid to our fussy eating

Coffee was strong and very good and sandwiches were a nice stop off refuel during our miles of walking the canals

2 OJs. 2 coffees and 2 sandwiches was €26 (without tip) which may feel rater pricy however we found the atmosphere and clientele consistent with our tastes

Our hotel receptionist mentioned it - thanks to Canal House (see my other review)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's months later and I still remember how great this breakfast was! I had eggs, ham, cheese, and croissants, with fresh orange juice and a cappuccino, all at a reasonable price. The croissants were the best I've ever had, fresh, light, and flaky. The marmalade is made inhouse and absolutely incredible too! I wish I'd been able to buy some to take home with me. The staff were friendly and provided good service. I look forward to going back next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Screaming Beans also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Screaming Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Screaming Beans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.