We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic buzz. But slightly cloying flavors.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Di Sale

Restaurant Di Sale
Willemsparkweg 155, 1071GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
++31-20-6623853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #591 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
NL
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Energetic buzz. But slightly cloying flavors.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently dined at Di Sale with a friend who was visiting from Toronto. It was both of our first experiences at this restaurant. I will start with the things I liked about Di Sale: The ambiance was very nice - a cozy, but energetic buzz. It is also in a good part of Amsterdam. The servers and hostess couldn't have been nicer. And the wine list and food were quite reasonably priced, especially for this more posh area of Amsterdam. So, these are all good things. And reasons to return. That said, I wasn't crazy about the food. I prefer more subtle flavors; the flavors at Di Sale verged on the cloying. For example, they provided us with an amuse that was comprised of a red pepper-based spread. It was both too oily and too salty. The flavors of the unique ingredients were hidden beneath too many layers. This is how I felt about a lot of the meal. So, in sum, I might go back if I were in the neighborhood. But Di Sale is not on my "best of" list for the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Praha
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it had such good reviews but we were disappointed. We arrived at about 19:00 and the restaurant was already packed and really noisy. It´s a very small place so obviously it gets full fast. We ordered drinks (they didn´t have any fresh juice which really surprised us), then we got some bread and amouse bouche. I thought it was really strange to bring those before we even got the menu but fair enough. After a while it turned out that they forgot about the menu so we had to ask for it. As a result a group of people that arrived after us got their meals before we did. in fact we had to wait ages for both the starters and mains. The staff wasn´t attentive at all. We got really annoyed and frustrated during the evening. The starters were good but the mains came with very small side dish. My meat was accompanied literally by one spoon of potato puree smeared all over the plate. I know that small sides are very trendy these days but this was really extreme. Meat was plentiful so we asked for some more bread. Of course they had to put it into the oven first so it arrived when we were almost finishing the dish. By then we were so put off that we didn´t even consider ordering desserts or anything else. Ambience is plain and atmosphere is non-existent. Staff was dressed very casually (jeans etc).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Small cosy restaurant with atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern decor. Full restaurant so atmosphere and buzz of people enjoying themselves. We arrived late after our group had started and staff settled us in took our orders and we could soon catch up and eat with the others. Very tasty meal. Shared starter particularly good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good atmosphere - the place was fully booked on a saturdayevening. We made a reservation the day before for six persons. Great service and excellent fresh food!

Superb value for money!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent first meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had our first meal here on a weekend stay. I had been looking for restaurants that catered to people requiring a gluten free menu and this one came up. We did not look for it specifically but it was round the corner from our hotel (the Museum Suites) so when we walked by it we thought we'd venture in. We had a concert booked for later in the evening so time was against us a little. When we were being seated we explained that we had a concert to get to and that one of us would require gluten free food. They were able to deal with both requests without issue at all.

My meal was very enjoyable. A mushroom risotto that is making my mouth water as I write this review!

They got us our meals and got everything through efficiently so that we made our concert with time to spare. Perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Di Sale also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Di Sale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Di Sale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.