We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Very clean, comfortable, neat, hotel with easy access to the centre of Amsterdam. Pleasant, helpful, staff. coffee available 24/7. Large dining / communal area. Breakfast buffet - great variety. Efficient check-in and out. A joy to stay :)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    66
    41
    22
    14
See reviews for
14
57
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Location: 30min from Schipol Airport via train -> bus 65 -> 7min Walk. To Central Station, you will have to walk a good 10min for tram service 16 or 24, which is another 15min. In total less than 30min. Surronding is mostly residential but you can find several cafes, restaurants. Just beside the hotel is Police Station. Safe? Ya, probably. Supermarket Albert Hein is just 5min walk away.

Room: Very spacious for single traveller. there's bathtub too! Bed was clean and it has an interesting feature. You can adjust the inclination of the bed.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

I had booked a single room for 7 nights. On arrival, when I found the room, the card did not open the door. I went to reception (three floors down - with my luggage) and the receptionist gave me a new card. I went back to the room and same problem. I went back down three floors (with my luggage). The receptionist came up this time and told me I was not swiping the card properly. When she swiped it it still didn't work. She used her pass key card to let me in and told me to collect a new card later. When I came back from my first evening out the night porter had to let me in with his pass key but said that if I went out during the night he would let me in.

There was no soap in the basin soap dispenser, there was no bath, there were no facial tissues and the sink still contained whiskers from the previous occupant. When I came back on the first night they had provided a small bar of soap and some tissues while I was out. There was no "Do Not Disturb" sign so I was woken up by room service the next day.Thankfully they upgraded me to a double room on the ground floor without me having to ask.

The double room was not much better. There was a bath, but no bath plug. The bathroom floor was in poor condition (see picture) the room was grimy (see picture). The desk had no useful information card or pack on it so I had to go to reception (AGAIN) to get the WiFi password.

One of the pillow cases provided was torn. The decor was grotty (see picture). When I had moved rooms I had forgotten to bring my eye shade and my headphones. These were not returned to me, but I had not made my loss known.

Good points:- Friendly staff, free use of coffee machine, water/ice dispenser, mini bar/tiny shelf in fridge.

In summary, NOT a four star hotel in my opinion. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

This hotel is really affordable, much cheaper than other options in Amsterdam. For the price, you can't really complain. The beds are comfortable, the rooms warm. It's conveniently located, though the closest tram is still a good 15 minutes walk. There is a tram line right in front of the hotel but the further one goes to the relevant areas.
The rooms were very small, the bathroom looked old/worn out, and they didn't provide us with shampoos. They gave us a soap dispenser which was supposed to be shampoo too.
The area is ok but not too great. Though not unsafe, I wasn't too comfortable walking at night.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

A good hotel. The room was nice and the beds were fantastic. The bathroom had a full size bath and a very powerful shower. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room,but good free coffee in the dining room. The hotel had a very small cosy bar. The staff were very friendly. The location was good depending on where you wanted to be in Amsterdam. There was a tram stop outside, with one change to the city centre, or a 5 minute walk to a direct tram and the lively de Pijp area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Lovely hotel with good size rooms and really comfortable beds so good to relax into after a day spent walking.
Easy walk to Dam Square and all the museums.
Baggage storage available on arrival and departure.
Top tip - book an Amsterdam pass and collect at the airport- covers a canal boat trip, bus, tram, lots of museums and reductions for food outlets.

Room Tip: Not a large hotel but ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Hotel room was very comfortable, clean and large - we booked 1 triple room and 1 double and were satisfied with both. We particular loved the adjustable beds! Cant fault the location either as its situated right in front of the tram stop so it made it easy for us to go around the city Its about 40 mins walk to Ams Centraal station which we thought werent too bad as we could look around the city better this way. Plenty of nice bakeries and patisseries nearby for breakfast/lunch/coffee. Staff were also accommodating. Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.