We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This is the perfect hotel for a city trip if you're not planning to take a rest between exploring the city. The Savoy is not directly in the city center and it takes around 20 minutes with the tram to get there. The tram station is right in front of the hotel though, which is pretty convenient. The room was nice but not really fancy. The size of the room was okay for a 3-day-trip but it might get too small if you're staying longer. The breakfast was quiet good - not extraordinary but fitting to the overall standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
13
49
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

A small hotel from outside but spacious rooms if you insist for the larger ones at the time of your booking. The common sitting / waiting lobby seemed a bit small though. Dining hall is quite spacious and well stocked.

Rooms had nice interior and well maintained and serviced. The rack rates were a bit high specially over the weekend and the staff at reception a bit slow in attending at times. Location away from city center but in a quite location did work for us because it was located quite close to the Amsterdam RAI where we were attending a business conference for 4 days.

There are some nice eating joints few mins walk towards the RAI.

Room Tip: Try taking a room away from the church if you want to avoid the chimming of bell every hour which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights and booked 3 rooms , we got there and got told there was not enough rooms and that one room would have to stay at another hotel(I assumed it was a sister hotel) and that they would pay that taxi which seemed ok. When we said that we shouldn't have to and if they moved one they should move all 3 rooms the woman told us to hurry up and decide or they would cancel the third room which was appalling. Once we decided that we had no choice and one couple would have to move rooms she told us that we still had to pay £235 euros even though our reciept said it was fully paid. She said if we didn't pay she would cancel the room. After having no choice as no other hotels had vacancys we had to pay it. After that we went to the room and got our stuff sorted. The next issue came when we were leaving the hotel at night and asked the lady to book us a taxi which she wasn't too pleased about but did it. She said the 7 seater taxi would be ten minutes. Ten minutes later a taxi turned up so we got in and went. When we returned and asked for our key the other employee was working and told us he didn't have our key. We told him we needed it and he eventually gave us it. In the morning we went down stairs to get another taxi booked and the woman refused to call us one and said that she had I pay ten euros as the taxi driver was annoyed. I would never stay here again let alone advise anyone to stay here .

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We did not actually get to stay here, however we booked a room through Booking.com at a rate of €95.50 per night. Three weeks later we received an email from the Yield & Revenue Manager who said he had loaded the wrong rates on their system and would we please agree to a rate of €185.50 or cancel the booking otherwise he would lose his job. We consulted Booking.com on this but whilst waiting for a response received several phone calls & emails from the hotel manager asking us to negotiate an increased rate. Eventually we have just cancelled the booking as we are concerned what we will arrive to if we did not agree to increasing the rate we originally booked. The whole situation seemed quite bizarre and the manner in which they harassed us was highly unprofessional. I would certainly not wish to risk staying here now or at any point in the future.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I confess that when got out of the tram and walked to the hotel, I started to get worried. There are repairs on the street all over the quarter and it was difficult to move with the luggage. We finally arrived to the hotel and the entrance was not that imposing. But all this first impression was wrong. The hotel is very nice. Staff was very helpful. The room was very comfortable and big for European standards. The beds were very comfy with incredibly clean linen. The shower is strong and the box spacious. In spite of being on the ground floor, it was very quite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. Our room was comfortable, and we had no issues until we went to check out the next morning.
We had a mini bar in our room, and the hotel information sheet that was on the desk in our room said "please help yourself to the complementary mini bar". So we had a couple of drinks from the minibar during our stay. At checkout, the staff told us that the minibar was definitely not free, and that we had to pay for our drinks. When we showed them the piece of paper that was in our room, the woman said "oh, that wasn't supposed to be in your room, that's old". She then, shockingly, insisted on charging us for the drinks.When we tried to argue our case that the hotel was responsible for the information that they provide for guests in their rooms she refused to change her decision. The staff even implied that we were being cheapskates! Eventually after a huge argument she backed down on the issue. All in all, terrible, shocking, service!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed couple nights in the hotel in august and I wouldn't range it for 4*. We were not welcomed by staff on the front desk: no smile, no welcoming words, no info on hotel on general. We were charged for the whole period of stay upon arrival. Only in the room we've found that wi-fi needs a password, which were written down by the receptionist to the used piece of paper after we asked for it. And wi-fi is simply mot working in this hotel, so complimentary wi-hi hardly could be considered as a benefit especially when u are on business trip. On check-out no one asked if we've had a good time, reception clerk just stated that room is paid and that's it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.