We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was impressed with the rooms-shame it's a little far from the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was impressed with the rooms-shame it's a little far from the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

On arrival I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely modern rooms.air-conditioned, electric beds, bath and shower and flat screen tv, safe in the room.
Couldn't ask for more.I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here.
The tram to Amsterdam centre is two streets away now so a bit of a trek if you don't like walking.
My only gripe that on arrival we were told the coffee machine was complimentary at all times so helped ourselves the next morning and €5 was asked for.not a big deal but not complimentary .i would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    68
    42
    23
    17
See reviews for
14
58
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

good hotel, all facilities good and great breakfast. staff were helpful but it would be good to have a better bar for guests to relax in. near the rai so there a good selecrion of restaurants near. for me it was a pleasant walk to work through a nice neighbourhood

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel is about 30 mins from the main Dam Square. A bit of a walk to the market then number 16 or 24 tram will take you there.
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Night staff were 2 fairly young girls who didn't have much local knowledge but were friendly. Room was clean and tidy and plenty of accessories in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, room wasn't huge but it suited my needs a agile business traveller

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A lovely stay at the savoy and the hotel staff were very helpful with tram numbers etc.. Clean tidy rooms and couldn't believe that we had electric beds! Had a nice stay here for 3nights the only bad thing I could say is that it's quite a way from the dam but everything else was lovely

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The street noise is an issue for this hotel, our room was on the first floor and faced the main road where trams and traffic were constant. We did get a room change and the third floor was much quieter.
Breakfast was fine and done the job, all you can eat.
A good selection of restaurants within comfortable walking distance.
Hotel is ok but not great and slighlty overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had a room on the first floor. The noise from street was terrible but luckily I was tired enough not to care after a long journey. The other minor irritants included a curtain covering a full wall but behind it only a small window (this is one thing I don't like- finding a solid wall behind a curtain- feels like being cheated) and the check-in clerk on duty that night who had a terrible accent (I could not differentiate between his "passport" and "password" for instance) and who gave me a wrong password to the wifi. But the room itself was a delight. Very artfully decorated, lots of colours, curves, angles on the walls, on the floor carpet, tapestry and even the furniture. Just sitting in the room is quite pleasing. For a business traveler like me, the best thing was the FOUR electrical outlets, right next to bed for all my recharging needs. The next morning, things improved. I found myself dealing with different staff who were not only competent but very helpful indeed. I will go here again, if I had a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid street-facing rooms, especially on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.