We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service. Friendly staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newbridge, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good service. Friendly staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel is about 30 mins from the main Dam Square. A bit of a walk to the market then number 16 or 24 tram will take you there.
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Night staff were 2 fairly young girls who didn't have much local knowledge but were friendly. Room was clean and tidy and plenty of accessories in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable, room wasn't huge but it suited my needs a agile business traveller

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    34
    15
    9
See reviews for
12
48
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay at the savoy and the hotel staff were very helpful with tram numbers etc.. Clean tidy rooms and couldn't believe that we had electric beds! Had a nice stay here for 3nights the only bad thing I could say is that it's quite a way from the dam but everything else was lovely

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The street noise is an issue for this hotel, our room was on the first floor and faced the main road where trams and traffic were constant. We did get a room change and the third floor was much quieter.
Breakfast was fine and done the job, all you can eat.
A good selection of restaurants within comfortable walking distance.
Hotel is ok but not great and slighlty overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had a room on the first floor. The noise from street was terrible but luckily I was tired enough not to care after a long journey. The other minor irritants included a curtain covering a full wall but behind it only a small window (this is one thing I don't like- finding a solid wall behind a curtain- feels like being cheated) and the check-in clerk on duty that night who had a terrible accent (I could not differentiate between his "passport" and "password" for instance) and who gave me a wrong password to the wifi. But the room itself was a delight. Very artfully decorated, lots of colours, curves, angles on the walls, on the floor carpet, tapestry and even the furniture. Just sitting in the room is quite pleasing. For a business traveler like me, the best thing was the FOUR electrical outlets, right next to bed for all my recharging needs. The next morning, things improved. I found myself dealing with different staff who were not only competent but very helpful indeed. I will go here again, if I had a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid street-facing rooms, especially on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy in mid August 2013 and were quite satisfied with the room. Breakfast was quite satisfactory also and the Hotel itself was about what we expected. Our only complaint really was that it was a long way out of the centre of the city but then again we did not enjoy the centre of the city so make of that what you will. There were many nice little eating places in the vicinity which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the SAVOY HOTEL in August 2013 for 4 nights. We booked from the hotel’s website for about € 110,00 per night including breakfast.
The rooms seem to be ok, but a little bit bad maintained. The second day, we changed rooms as in the first room there were two TVs, the one did not work and the second did not have a remote control. At the second room, the TV was ok but there was a problem with the wash basin. So during all our stay, we were used in having water on the bathroom’s floor. Also, the switches in both bed’s sides were naked. The switch’s covers were absent. We informed the reception for both problems, but they didn’t fix them during our stay.

It is not a 4 star hotel for sure! The breakfast is not for a 4 star hotel as well! The breakfast closes at 10:00. Don’t go after 09:30 as they do not refill!

Still there are some pros, as you can get coffee for free all day and the tram station is right across the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

An overall good experience with the Savoy Hotel, despite initial hiccups.

I booked with the Savoy a few months before travelling via their webiste and the cost was paid for by someone else, as it was a gift. Upon arrival we were asked to show the card by which the room was paid for, but were unable to do so as it was a gift. We were not allowed into the room until this was sorted. The online and email confirmation mentioned nothing of this before, but the problem was resolved after a scan was sent through via email. The website said that breakfast was included in the price, however once we got there we were told we'd have to pay 15 euros for breakfast. Once we cleared this up we went to our room, which was in the basement.
This room was not satisfactory. Because it was in the basement, there was not a lot of light coming in the window at all. We could just see a wall and the pavement at the top with people's feet in view as they walked by. The wifi was not working properly in this room. It was gloomy, too small and we didn't feel it was worth the money.
We asked to change rooms, and were given a room on the first floor - and what a difference! The room was spacious, with a big window and light streaming in! The bathroom was clean and spacious too. We had a two beds pushed together to make a double, but this was not really a problem. They were extremely comfortable! The air conditioning was also working great and the sizeable flat screen television had lots of channels. The wifi also worked really well in the second room.
The breakfast was average but it did the job. The room was set out very nicely. There were a few different things to eat like fruit, yoghurt, bread, croissants, and - to my delight- nutella! As I say, it did the job, but I don't think I would have paid 15 euros for it.
The staff were overall friendly, however when we had our initial problems I didn't feel that they were as helpful as they could have been. We were clearly young folk who would have benefited from a little more customer service when we first arrived. Overall they were pleasant (especially those in the breakfast room).
The hotel was in the perfect location for us. The tram stop is literally just up the road from the front door, which we found very beneficial. The 25 tram goes right up to Centraal Station via all the tourist shops, national monument, royal palace, restaurants, and places to go on canal rides. Excellent location!
Our overall experience with the Savoy Hotel was great - once out initial problems were solved!

Room Tip: Basement rooms are a bit gloomy - avoid if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;