We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel but not in a great neighbourhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average Hotel but not in a great neighbourhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a pretty average hotel (definitely not 4 star UK standard). Our comments are as follows after a three night stay...

First impressions - The outside looked in need of some attention. The green sunshades looked dirty with moss and needed cleaning. The windows were also very dirty. The lobby area was small but warm and welcoming however it is quite dark and could do with more lighting.
On arrival, although we had paid in full upfront, they asked for card details incase of any extras or damage... I gave them a credit card in case of any charges to give some protection from the bank.

Location - The location was ok but not the best, it is about a 25/30 minute walk into the city centre, ideal if you enjoy walking. You can also catch a tram from outside however we didn't attempt this after getting lost trying to get the train from the airport. The weather was fairly good so we enjoyed walking every day. The local neighbourhood isn't all that great and has a dangerous feel about it after dark. There are many strange characters (mainly men) and homeless people roaming the streets. Unless you are confident about defending yourself we would advise talking a tram or taxi back to the hotel in the evening. Fortunately there is a police station next door to the hotel which offers some sense of security.

Rooms - Our room was at the front of the hotel on the 1st floor looking out on to the main road. Our main observations are that the road outside is noisy and the window didn't do anything to block the noise out - it was just as noisy with the window open as it was when it was closed. The window also lets through quite a breeze. Decent windows with some kind of sound insulation is needed. We would recommend requesting a room which isn't at the front.
The memory foam beds are comfortable and can be adjusted. This was a plus however being woken up at 6am by the street cleaner and trams was very annoying!
The minibar is expensive so we put some of our own drinks in it however the fridge only chilled them to about 10-12 degrees, not cold enough for wine or beer. It was good to have a fridge though as you don't seem to get one in many hotels now.
The lighting in the room is very poor. There are no main lights and only several side lamps and a floor lamp, none of which provide nearly enough light.
The decor was nice and the rooms were well furnished however not always cleaned to the highest standard. There appeared to be mould growing from the shower extractor vent. The shower was nice though and powerful enough, there is also a bath which was a nice after alot of walking.
The cleaner also failed to provide cups and complimentary bathroom products on one day.
There was a safe in the room which was good.

Breakfast - The food was fairly decent but the choice wasn't great.
It's worth noting that there isn't a bar at the hotel however there are several as you walk up the street towards the centre.

Overall I would recommend staying here if you can get a room for no more than 100euros per night. Otherwise it's probably worth paying a little extra and getting a room a bit closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Request a room which is away from the front of the hotel as the main road is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
12
49
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was slightly out of the way but a very short tram ride to the center of town. The room was small but quite comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful and free internet. Breakfast was a small but adequate buffet of homemade breads and other selected European specialties.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for money with very friendly and helpful staff! Great location and easy access to public transport. Rooms a little bit small but clean. This hotel is great for couples of all ages who wishes to explore Amsterdam from early till late and then sleep somewhere safe, clean and quiet to recharge your batteries for the next days round of adventure! 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights for our trip to Amsterdam. On arriving we had to pay city tax which was about €20. We booked this hotel through easyjet and it was classed as 4*. We stayed in a double room which was a bit small but ideal just to sleep and shower for me and the girlfriend. The room was clean, Shower was brilliant, Wifi in the hotel was free. They had a restaurant/food area which we never tried. Tram stop was outside hotel no.25 goes to central station 15 min journey. Hotel was just a short tram journey to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is a good hotel. A little bit expensive and the breakfast was not inclusive in the price which was aa down side of it. Rooms were clean and quiet. Probably we got the rooms on the old side of the hotel and those seem to be smaller. There is a tram line just in front of the hotel which takes you in 15 minutes to the centre. We tried walking and it gets you there in 25 minutes. Very nice service.

Room Tip: better on the new side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Room a bit on the small side but it was good value. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I did not book directly with the hotel. Booked 2 rooms online and encountered some surprises upon check in. When I booked the room I thought my credit card was charged but there was only a hold put on the card. I had to pay for the rooms on arrival and the exchange rate was higher and resulted in an additional $40 dollars. The website indicated that there was parking available. Yes there is but it is about a 20 minute tram ride and walk or expensive hourly parking on the street near the hotel that was always full. We took the tram to the parking and had to drag our suitcases to and from the hotel. The parking garage was 16 euros. The rooms were clean and modern. The bathroom had European style tub/shower, toiletries, and a hairdryer. Our room faced the street with the tram so there was some noise when the tram was operating. Breakfast was 15 euros and was adequate. There were restaurants and shops near the hotel. A large flea market is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You can buy a day pass for the tram and it was easy to get to the town center by tram. Hop on hop off buss stop was a short walk from the hotel and a great way to see Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to avoid surprises. Do not take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.