We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #287 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Taby, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the kind of hotel that makes you wonder how you actually can run a business.

The room is smelling with a combo of smoke and moisture and has probably been neglected for many years. Will never ever stay here again it is terrible in all ways. Almost no water when showering, no shampoo, no batteries in the tv remote, the list can be sooo long....

Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LarsBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, the rooms are small but that's not exceptionel in Amsterdam. The interior of the rooms do meet four star standards. We did not have breakfast but there are many breakfast options nearby. The staff is very correct and polite.

Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martinus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a family visit and was so disgusted with the service and the state of this place. The one bed was broken, the 3rd bed was made up of a chair and camper bed, the plugs were broken, behind the bedside table there were big clumps of wire stuck to the wall with clue like material (silicone). I was refused the refund of the city tax as I booked into a new hotel were we were given champagne free wine and a free drink at the bar. We were treated like royalty whereas the Savoy treated me as a paying customer like dirt. I will be taking this up with my booking agent as I have never stayed and never will stay in such bad accommodation. I also cannot even give them 1 star as they are not worthy of it.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hannie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

If you need a cheap basic hotel that's ok then this could be it. It had a great location for where I needed to be. There is no restaurant but you can order into the hotel from local restaurants and there's a few restaurants a short walk away. I really missed having a kettle in the room to make myself a cupola, surely they didn't have to trim that to be basic ??
Staff are all v pleasant and they have an agreed rate to the airport with a local taxi firm.

Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Grayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Stayed there last weekend for Sat and Sunday night. We were on ground floor and relatives were on second. The room and bed was very clean the shower cubicle floor is getting old but was clean. Yes we did suffer from people smoking and talking outside the front door and if staying longer would have asked to move. On ground floor also suffered from noise of he canopies blowing in the wind mind you it was blowing a gale outside. Staff. Couldnt have been more helpful. Looking up tram times giving directions and best methods of travel. Even when we turned up to collect pour cases on last day made us welcome whilst we dried of after the torrential rain. Would I stay again probably not but thats because i wold want to be nearer the city.

Room Tip: i would say avoid groundfloor rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting rooms were beyond basic and not clean . The cleaners did not clean up the rooms properly . Hotel staff smoking dope outside your bedroom window.

The food was horrible cooked breakfast was cold and no effort was made By anyone .

Staff were ok but always pre occupied with something else to be bothered .

It was expensive for what it was and disgusting we certainly wouldn't stay there again and would strongly advise no one else to .

It's a dump

Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cyr l'Ecole, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Some of the rooms are in the basement or the "lobby". The sanitary are rather of a Soviet Union era than of a 4 stars hotel.
The receptionist was more of a backdoorman, bored and took incredible time to deliver the keys of the room. Overall nothing of a 4 star facility and I could not find anything pleasant in the attention by the personnel. Not a recommended address.

Stayed November 2015, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ManuCoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.8 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,766 reviews
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Apollo
Wyndham Apollo
#99 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#168 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing