We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable hotel close to RAI Exhibition center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable hotel close to RAI Exhibition center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Savoy Hotel is close to the RAI Exhibition center at a comfortable 10 minutes walk. There is free Wifi in the hotel, a good and plentiful breakfast, comfortable rooms with very good beds.
Staff is helpful, efficient check-in and -out.
Parking close to the hotel is possible. The center of Amsterdam is easily reached by tram.
A pity there is no bar for a quiet drink!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
12
46
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night this week. Most important terms for me were presented: not too far from city center, English breakfast and free wifi internet in rooms.
The first contact was nice: pretty Indonesian lady in reception was very friendly. I checked-in at 6 p.m. and on the same time a male person came to work to front desk. I saw coffee machine in breakfast room and asked from female person, how much I have to pay for coffee. She said that coffee is free of charge. On the same time guy from reception added that I have to drink coffee in the same room and I can not take the cup to my room... Strange, but OK.
I entered into my room on the 3rd floor and it was very cold. The reason was a window, which was not closed. I tried to close it, but it was quit tricky, because the mechanism was broken. Somehow I was successful and thanks to air conditioner in a hour my room was more-less warm.
As I had to prepare some documents, I tried connect my laptop by wifi to internet, but the signal was too weak for it. The same result with iPad. I called to reception and described the problem. Guy from front desk was very unfriendly and he suggested to take my computer with me to lobby because there the signal is stronger. I did not like this solution and asked to change my room. The answer was negative. Arguments were that there is only 5 free rooms in hotel and maybe crowd of people from street will enter and want book all these rooms. And... he has to send a cleaner to my room, if I will leave it! I explained, that there is no need for cleaner, cause I just arrived and everything is clean. Result: nothing! First time in my life hotel was not changing my room when I asked that.
At morning I had breakfast with my colleague and it was really good and tasty. But... during the one hour in breakfast room we did not see any other hotel guests. So it was really hard to believe the argument of the front desk guy, that hotel was almost full.

Room Tip: If you want wifi do not choose the room No 301. My colleague stayed in room No 102 and there the sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Nice hotel - trolley right outside and only 5 minutes walk to RAI.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

First of all please let me start by saying this hotel is way under rated on trip advisor. I stayed at this hotel from 24th December 2011 till 28th December 2011 with my wife and we had an amazing stay. Before leaving for Amsterdam I must have spent more than 100 hours on reading reviews and looking at different sites for hotels and was worried about the ratings but after the stay I can definitely say that this hotel which has a rating of 7.0 is way below for what you get for the price.

It is like 15 mins drive from the airport. We took the connexxion shuttle which was 50 euros return trip for 2. For the hotel we paid Euro 367.00 including breakfast (which was decent compared to the 15 Euros/Person the rest of the hotels charge) and city tax of 5%. Tram 25 and 12 takes you to Dam Square and the tram station and is a stone throw away from the hotel. It is in a very nice and peaceful area with the police station next to it. Everyone at the reception was amazingly helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Lots of places to eat around inlcuding indonesian, thai etc. Places like Heinkein experience and Albert Market are like 2 stops by tram. Other places like van goh and rij museum are 2 mins away by tram. It is a non smoking hotel but u can smell the weed and in the hallway which as a smoker i definitely did not mind ;) .

Overall very nice hotel for the price you pay. I would recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam. I really don't think you wold get anything better for the price this hotel charges.

P.S : If you stay here then I will advise you to get the I AM AMSTERDAM CARD...for the duration that suits you since you will use the trams a lot and get free entry to a lot of museums and a free canal cruise.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with twin beds instead of a queen or double bed. The ones with twin beds are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I only really slept at this hotel as I was in Amsterdam visiting friends. The front desk lady was polite and helpful; the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the price was competetive for Amsterdam. It's not a luxury hotel by any stretch but it does the job. The location is not that central, but the local area is fun and pleasant with easy tram connections to other paets of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A bit outdated furniture and not really a 4* hotel, but clean and with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

i stayed two days in this hotel . it was very clean also people who working in the hotel they were so friendly and smiley also very secure hotel . next to the police station. 30 minutes walking distance from central station . breakfast was expensive it was 15 euro but you can eat out much cheaper than this price .tea and coffee are free .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;