We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a quite bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zagros

Zagros
Albert Cuypstr 50 hs, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #665 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: Authentiek Koerdisch Restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Authentiek Koerdisch Restaurant
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a quite bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food was delicious and so cheap, really too big a portion but it was so good we ate all of it. The house wine was also delicious, better than a glass that cost as much as the carafe from another bar down the street.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent food, personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

An amazing restaurant, great value for money. The quality of the food is excellent as well as it's display. The latter combined with the kind, personal service creates a wonderful atmosphere altogether. We had a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Kurdish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We felt like we were taking a risk with this place, just because it didn't look great from the outside. However we had heard good reviews so we went for it. The restaurant was around half full, ok for mid week. The waiter could have been friendlier and went out to smoke at every opportunity, I assume the owner wasn't around to keep an eye on him! The food was delicious, the meat was so tender and the flavours really interesting. We had never had Kurdish food before but we definitely will after this meal! The desserts were good too. I definitely recommend this place, 5* food (just don't expect 5* service).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A lovely finish to 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

On New Year's Eve we needed something to eat before going into Amsterdam for the celebrations and fireworks. This little restaurant in the Museum Quarter was jam-packed (turned out a Kurdish family had hired the place for their own celebration, but they very kindly allowed us and anotther couple to take tables!) Kurdish food is very similar in style and taste to Turkish and we had a lovely, tasty meal cooked with fresh wholesome ingredients. This is the second time we've been in Amsterdam for New Year, and the second time we've eaten here. The proprietor and staff are so welcoming, and although the place may be slightly rustic for some tastes, we love it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Never tried a kurdish restaurant before but it's a very good cusine! Not too spicy, tasty and the dessert was so yummy! They have a special yogurt served with pomegranate seeds and a very sweet honey. We just popped-in withouth even realizing it was a kurd restaurant and we had our best dinner in Amsterdam! Also the waiter was very nice and helpful. Only thing, they took a bit before serving our dish but I noticed this happens in all the restaurants in Amsetrdam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagros also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zagros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zagros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.