We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and very English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods, English Tea Room & Restaurant

Greenwoods, English Tea Room & Restaurant
Keizersgracht 465, 1017 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-4204330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique and very English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Niche cafe/small restaurant. Very small and very cosy. it seems to always be packed because the food is amazing. I had a Lamb Burger which was simply great. Book a reservation, I have seen some lines that looked too long to be any sort of reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    164
    68
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food with very friendly service!! The homemade Irish soda bread was delicious!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“A basement food oasis for high tea, salads, and vegetarian dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was a dark rainy afternoon when we found this restaurant. The main dining hall is in the basement and they have their kitchen on the first floor. The ambience is very cosy and warm, a great deal when it's cold and wet outside!

Greenwood's high tea is a two-layered offering of scones, open salmon, egg and cheese sandwiches. More precisely, their menu lists their Classic High Tea as having: Homemade soda bread with smoked salmon and cream cheese, four petite sandwiches, cake, Scone with Langage Farm Devonshire Clotted Cream and strawberry jam. My wife enjoyed that tremendously.

My son enjoyed the 100% organic lamb burger while another enjoyed "Granny's Homemade Meatball" a dish served with a dash of vegetables, brown bread and chips. Both dishes received a standing ovation from the family.I had the Portabella Mushroom which was Portabella mushroom with roasted ratatouille, melted goats cheese, pine nuts and honey served on their own soda bread and rocula salad. I had this with prosecco, and our lunch was perfect for that dark, rainy, Amsterdam afternoon.

I will go back there to try their breakfast dishes...all very inviting! They do have two restaurants, one in Singel (103) and the one we went to was in Keizersgracht (465).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went to Greenwoods for breakfast and had amazing eggs florentine. Although quiet when we first walked in it filled up quickly on a Friday. The atmosphere was good food excellent. Just slightly tightly packed together but well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stop by because my daughter needed the toilet haha... we came in to the restaurant and you could smell the delicious food that was coming out of the kitchen. We wanted to stay and have dinner, but they were about to close, so we came back the next day, and it was so tasty and delicious. I had the lamb hamburger and my husband had de eggs benedict which he also loved!

We are definitely coming back on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods, English Tea Room & Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods, English Tea Room & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwoods, English Tea Room & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.