We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of 2 visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie SenT

Brasserie SenT
Saenredamstraat 39, 1072 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6762495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, French, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In de keuken van Brasserie SenT staat the big green egg (houtskooloven) centraal. Het vlees is heerlijk mals met een unieke rooksmaak. Daarnaast serveren wij klassieke verse gerechten en goede wijnen per glas tegen scherpe prijzen. Wij spreken onze talen dus graag tot ziens in SenT!
MIAMI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tale of 2 visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We dined here twice during our week in amsterdam in October.Sent is a cozy place with a welcoming staff and atmosphere-and food that merits multiple tastings.We had wonderful service and excellent food, and came back on our last night in Amsterdam expecting more good food, and were not disappointed. We had four main courses between the two of us on our two visits, and all were terrific.Our second night was spent in part schmoozing with the charming hostess/part owner before the lively crowd descended that evening and we enjoyed sharing our trans Atlantic perspectives.I enjoyed their duck breast and beef entrees- and Emily had the salmon appetizer one night and Sole another.The menu offers limited choices, but what they do, the do well and with attention to detail.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    34
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and were very pleased because it was just a very short walk from our hotel in the Museum Quarter. When we arrived we found a very cozy atmosphere and very friendly waitstaff. My wife wanted to start with the stuffed mushroom which was excellent. We have the lamb and Doc both of them were fantastic. They were accompanied by some of the best french fries we've ever had, crunchy on the outside soft on the inside, with a very nice homemade mayonnaise for dipping and a very nice but simple salad.
It was so good that we return the next night with a friend of ours for a celebration dinner. My wife and I had the châteaubriand for two which was done on the Big Green Egg ceramic grill just perfectly. Our friend had the ravioli and was delighted with it. The recommended wine was so good we had to have two bottles. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Museum Quarter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here several times now. Always an excellent dining experience. The ambiance is lovely, the frites are perfectly salted, the meat is perfectly cooked (try the pork!), and the chef is always trying something new and different. The avocado ravioli was particularly memorable. The wait tends to be a little longer than other restaurants, but that is just because everything is cooked completely fresh ... so that never bothers me. Plan to have a relaxing evening here. Drink some wine, enjoy the company of friends, and don't worry about the extra time it takes to get your food. Definitely recommend this restaurant - reservations are recommended on weekends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice place in 'de Pijp' quarter. Soft and tender sirloin steak from the big green egg. Delicious lamb and salmon. Also the tasting of desserts was great. 4 different sweets including crème brulee and brilliant yoghurt- honey ice cream. Good value for your money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This place has great atmosphere and great food but the service is poor. The wait staff is rude and condescending. The wait between courses was 20 minutes. When asked politely where our dessert was, the waitress rudely said she had to plate a table of 8 first before she could serve our dessert..which was ice cream!!!! And the table of eight sat down after us. The entree was delicious but that was about it. Turned off by the staff..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie SenT also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie SenT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie SenT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.