We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They eat early in Amsterdam and these guys sent us on our way at 10 p.m.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nieuw Peking

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nieuw Peking
van Baerlestraat 166, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,576 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: one of the best and friendliest chinese restaurants in Amsterdam. Not expensive and good food
Restaurant details
Description: one of the best and friendliest chinese restaurants in Amsterdam. Not expensive and good food
United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“They eat early in Amsterdam and these guys sent us on our way at 10 p.m.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a nice friendly chinese restaurant not too dear, near where we were staying, but we were shocked one evening when the lady coughed, presented us with the bill while we were eating and said they closed at 10 p.m.! Luckily not everywhere did but you live and learn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average at a push”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I came here based on the reviews here already (5 out of 5) and it being close to our hotel.

I can honestly say it is not a 5 out of 5 restaurant.

The staff are friendly enough and the place is a comfortable setting.

The food however is average at a push - we had sizzling beef in black bean sauce, chicken Kung po, special fried rice and plain chow mein. The only good dish was the chow mein although it's not plain and in our view actually made it a good dish - it is served with onion, courgette and beansprouts. Oh and not forgetting the withered old fried egg on top, weird.
The meat dishes were average quality, I've had much, much better in other Chinese restaurants.
The rice was barely fried and the meat was exceptionally cheap within it (I'm sure there was spam in it).


The food arrived within minutes of ordering - as another review says here 'record time' so you can be assured that your meal has not been cooked fresh. Yum. We gathered that most if not all dishes are re-heated based on the time it took to arrive plus the fact that they don't do crispy aromatic duck (not se easy to reheat/store overnight).

And the worst bit? The price. The beef was just shy of €20, overall bill nearly €60 for two mains, two accompaniments, four soft drinks and prawn crackers.

I will never return here. If it was a cheap eat I wouldn't have cared so much about the food but I've had so much better for the same or less price.

If others think this is 5 out of 5 I'd love to take them to my favourite Chinese and show them a real beef in black bean sauce!

NOT recommended and only given a generous 3 out of 5 because the staff were friendly ad the food was edible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our usual place when we want to eat before going to a concert at the Concertgebouw. We've been going there for years now The food is pretty traditional for a Chinese restaurant in the Netherlands and tastes good. Service is very friendly and quick. If you're running a bit late before a concert and tell the waitstaff, food can appear on your table in record time. Quiet relaxed atmosphere.

The only downside is that they're closed on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Calm and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very tasty. I'm not a guru in Chinese cousin, but I like this place. Very delicious. Seafood are excellent. The majority of visitors are locals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a Greek Resturant and stumbles on this Chinese Resturant and we were so glad we did. Fully staffed by Chines e staff who were quite friendly, we found the food to be suburb. 5 of us ate for 100 euros which is about normal with a drink thrown in. The food was out of this world and well recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nieuw Peking also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Nieuw Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nieuw Peking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.