We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, interesting stories, but I would not mind a little more food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Merkelbach

Restaurant Merkelbach
Middenweg 72, 1097 BS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 665 0880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #656 of 2,540 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At restaurant Merkelbach we offer every day of the year a nice breakfest, just coffee/tea with cake, lunch (3 courses) or diner (3-6 courses) accompanied with a very fine selection of beautiful wines. Our restaurant is located in one of the last country estates of Amsterdam. The ornamental garden, where we have our outside terras, is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the seasons while being in the city. Our chefs our closely connected with Slow Food and our dishes are prepared with local and sustainable products. Our restaurant is a unique place in the middle of Amsterdam, to enjoy nature and fine tastes.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
299 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great service, interesting stories, but I would not mind a little more food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

As mentioned in the title, the service provided by the restaurant staff was great. They really know their menu, food, ingredients and drinks and by supplying a narrative to each course and glass made our visit memorable. We had no choice of course since the restaurant participated in the Amsterdam Restaurant Week and only had one menu of sustainable meats, fish and vegetables (soem of them known as forgotten vegetables). The quality of the food was good, but one word of critique....the portions are rather small and I guess most grown-ups could deal with a bit more food on their plate (sustainable or not). However, a memorable experience in a nice setting with comfortable chairs and a beautiful park that surrounds the location (Old carriage house/koetshuis). Before dinner have a look to spot some of the breeding storks in the adjacent park !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good wines, good looking food...but I'm not completely convinced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very nice location. It should be marvelous to have a glass of their very good selection of wines outside in the garden, during a summer afternoon.
Unfortunately I was there during the winter and, although the wine was really good, the "old style" dining room was not so nice.

The dishes are very well presented. They are very precise in composing the dish, with food of different colors and shapes.
Unfortunately the portions are not so big and the taste is not as good as the first sight suggest.

I was there for a business dinner, so I don't know about the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location is just wonderful and the menu looks promising. But once we got the food it was rather disappointing. Simple, and rather boring dishes. But worse of all, portions were so small so we all went straight elsewhere to get more food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean VA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

You have to travel a bit on the tram to get here, but it's worth the trip. We went here because the restaurant was featured in Travel & Leisure magazine as one of the best in Amsterdam. I loved the food and my 86 year-old mother actually declared it was the best meal she had ever eaten in her life.

Every dish we had was excellent. Our drinks came with crunchy pickled vegetables. The beet salad had edible flowers and was an explosion of flavors; every bite was unique. The fish was perfectly cooked and came with Chanterelle mushrooms cooked in garlic. The rice pudding was a revelation--very light, topped with hazelnuts, surrounded by lemongrass foam.

The restaurant pairs each dish with a glass of wine (7 Euros). A three-course meal is offered at a discount. Since my mother and I don't eat a lot of food, we shared each dish. The staff divided each dish in the kitchen and presented them beautifully--and then they only charged us for a single menu. I had assumed we would get charged the a la carte rates.

The restaurant is set on the edge of Frankendael Park, which probably just off most tourist maps (take the number 9 tram past the Tropenmuseum). The garden setting is lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice restaurant to have a coffee, lunch or dinner in the garden.
Relaxed atmosphere in the garden, away from busy Amsterdam.
Food is from local biologic farms, form good quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Merkelbach also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Merkelbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Merkelbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.