We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Merkelbach

Restaurant Merkelbach
Middenweg 72, 1097 BS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 665 0880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #739 of 2,470 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At restaurant Merkelbach we offer every day of the year a nice breakfest, just coffee/tea with cake, lunch (3 courses) or diner (3-6 courses) accompanied with a very fine selection of beautiful wines. Our restaurant is located in one of the last country estates of Amsterdam. The ornamental garden, where we have our outside terras, is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the seasons while being in the city. Our chefs our closely connected with Slow Food and our dishes are prepared with local and sustainable products. Our restaurant is a unique place in the middle of Amsterdam, to enjoy nature and fine tastes.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice restaurant to have a coffee, lunch or dinner in the garden.
Relaxed atmosphere in the garden, away from busy Amsterdam.
Food is from local biologic farms, form good quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice evening in a birdcage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We started a wonderfull evening in the extremly charming garden surounded by birds. Lots of parrots flying around.
The food was delicious and the vine served with the food was a perfect match.
The service was very nice and made us feel at home immediately.
Definitely a place to return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
705 reviews 705 reviews
523 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
1,367 helpful votes 1,367 helpful votes
“Good and healthy food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I liked this place... They have a smart menu formula, by which you choose the number of servings and can have whatever is on the menu. Wine pairing is also foreseen - I would not always share their ideas, but at least hey have some. And the food is solid, well prepared comfort food: it will not give you vertigo or really surprise you, but much better than your average restaurant. Definitely worth trying.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A secret you want to keep for yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Because this is such a fabulous place, you actually do not want everybody to know about it. The chances will be that they will be fully booked everytime you would like to have dinner here. The staff is super nice and professional. The menue always original and the food of exceptional quality. In the summer you can dine al fresco in a very romantic garden.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, pleasant atmosphere, kind staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been here twice now: first time for dinner with friends and second time for lunch with family. On both occassions food, service and wine highly exceeded our expectations. As mentioned below, more or less not Amsterdam like.

The beautifully restored and decorated setting also makes this a hidden treasure within Amsterdam, making you forget for a moment you are in Amsterdam. Luckily for us just two blocks form our front door ...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Merkelbach also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Merkelbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Merkelbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.