We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine tastes bistro bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foodism

Foodism
Nassaukade 122, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 486 81 37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Dutch, Eastern European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“fine tastes bistro bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

really a grass routes place, although it may seem kinda' fancy... it's nice! built with desire & not money. They are very proud to have you there, enjoy the hospitality.. the meals are under-priced..for the quality..!. .. it is fine dining! ideology.. a lot of effort in the prep, makes for you a naturally easy & enthusiastic eating visit with them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Very nice dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a lovely time! The food is really good. Mix of various mediteranien specialities in form of tapas! Wine was quite good also. Service was friendly and helpfull.
For a Nice dinner for 2 pers + bottle of red wine we paid 53€. Really nice evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“tasty and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We found Foodism after consulting know-it-all Google, and was surprised to see it not more lauded on Trip Advisor. After our meal there tonight, I am trying to correct this! Foodism is for people who love to eat. There are no 'courses'. But lots of different plates of food. I think the idea is to order two or three a piece and share, which is my favourite way to eat. Mind you, this isn't tapas... more raciones if you must. We had the daily special of squid ink risotto and squid, which was delicious. We also ordered simple spinach and potatoes (also delicious), a greek pork stew and a salad. Simple, honest food, well-cooked and full of flavour without all the grease and salt.
After two weeks on the road, and some very rich food in Belgium and Strasbourg, we were craving something lighter and healthier. Foodism fit the bill, and although I am looking forward to our reservation at a popular Amsterdam restaurant tomorrow, I will admit to wistfully wishing I could have another dinner at Foodism and explore that menu further.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great fun place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Everytime I eat here I remember how good it is and think why don't we eat here more often?
We had friends visiting from the States and wanted a place we could eat with 6 that wouldn't be too expensive and have a lot of diversity. This was it! Something for everybody... Small dishes which actually aren't all that small: we each ordered 2 and added two salads and had more than enough.(we were stuffed!) as well as a very good rose wine. Even though this isn't quiet fine dining, extremely good service incl. a pitcher of water unasked, which is pretty much unheard of in Amsterdam. Be sure to reserve!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delectable Tapas at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Foodism is the kind of
restaurant you dream of. Delectable tapas at a price everyone can afford.

The salads feature fresh produce and quality cheeses, including some of the best Manchester I've ever had. The menu is clearly seasonal, and at the time of this post we had the following Mediterranean inspired dishes (and devoured them all):

Dates wrapped in bacon with goat cheese
Greek stew
The end of chicken as you know it
Greek Salad
Sunny Salad
Amazing fresh bread
Carrot cake

We also had wine and a courtesy shot
of an incredible honey liqueur, all for under €50.

The space is modern with great finishing details. Typical small space for Amsterdam, so be prepared for a wait on weekends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foodism also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Foodism? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foodism, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.