We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Cacerola

Restaurant La Cacerola
Weteringstraat 41, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 2,287 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beste Braziliaanse Churrasco de Picanha hier te vinden. Prachtig mooie, verse gerechten, met veel smaak en liefde bereid. een absolute culinaire verrassing net iets uit de route. top tent!Time Out Amsterdam, july 2012, zegt "Brazilian Blowout! 5 stars! "
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This small, family-run restaurant has loads of character (it is located in an old house in a street running perpendicular to the Prinsengracht) and very friendly staff. The menu is small but everything is really delicious!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    47
    10
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Brazilian steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Enjoyed walking around looking for this place and was delighted with the result. Very comfortable inside and just very tasty food. Not much more to say about it, just enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad service, common food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

"La Cacerola" looked very promising at first sight. It got a bit uncomfortable when we got seated in a really tight space on the first floor near the stairs because all the other tables were taken but that wouldn't have been a big issue for the six of us. Also the starters were very tasty.

It started to get chaotic with the main course. When the waitress came with two dishes and started serving, we were glad that we did not have to wait very long - so it seemed. When she came back we thought the other dishes would come, but instead she gasped "WAIT" and asked us if we had already started eating. We said no since we were waiting that everybody got served, and so she excused herself, took the plates away and told us they were actually for another table.

We found that strange, and even stranger was that 20 minutes later, the same thing happened again, this time the other waitress was starting with two other dishes that she took back soon after. Now after almost every one of us had their dish served to them and taken away again, we started to get hungry. After some more waiting we finally got our dishes and after confirming several times made sure that they are really for us before starting to eat them.

Most of the main dishes were ok, even if they were not very special and seemed overpriced. Although 2 of our friends had ordered the same type of steak, one of them consisted at least 50% of pure fat. When the friend with the fatless steak asked why the other one was so fat, we just got the answer that it's meant to be like that and that "she got lucky" of having a piece with less fat.

Also, when we got the bill, we were puzzled why there was a handwritten addition of 22 Euros on it. We asked and got the reply that "although one of the dishes appears on the bill it has not been summed up in the whole price" which we couldn't confirm after adding it up together. After we complained they came back with a new bill with the same sum, this time telling us that the price of some dish had not been entered correctly.

Some of the dishes (especially the starters) were very nice, although expensive. All in all however we were very unhappy with the experience and the service especially and would not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
1 review
“Delicious and cozy dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was excited that I managed to find La Cacerola in the rain. The place is very cozy and warm, and the staff are very welcoming. I was traveling by myself for work. I don't like eating out alone, but La Cacerola was so unintimidating that dining alone was just fine.

I tried the five-course meal, which began with an amazing dish involving beef and pumpkin puree. Amazing! I also enjoyed the signature steak -- it was cooked just right (medium rare for me). I highly recommend the lemon mousse dessert as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great & cozy place, great food & great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Found this place by chance when looking online for some restaurants we've never been. Was really, really nice. Not a big place, quite hidden but absolutely worth it!! Staff was super friendly, the whole restaurant is somehow spread on three mini-floors and food was delicious! Thanks to one very convincing waitress we even had a dessert which was absolutely worth it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Cacerola also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant La Cacerola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Cacerola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.