We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and decent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location and decent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed 2 days here as we were visiting our daughter at University. The hotel is in a quiet location out of town but is only 2 mins walk to the trams which are fast and frequent into the city centre. Parking is about 8 Euro per day but free from 7.00pm Friday evening until 9.00 AM Monday morning.
Staff here were superb and definately better than budget hotel staff you find in some areas - esp UK!
Room was clean and nicely appointed. Bar and breakfast areas though small were excellent and though the breakfast was not extensive it was more than adequate to put us on for the day. I would recommend this hotel for visiting the University , and also the city if you use the tram system that the hotel can provide day cards which made it so easy and cheap.

Room Tip: No real advice other than floor 2 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    148
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
171
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in the staff are very good the rooms are excellent and clean the breakfast was also very good it is out of Amsterdam centre but a fifteen minute ride on the tram to the centre of the city

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great compliment. It is great to hear that you consider our hotel as one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels! We always do our best to provide our guests service on the highest level. We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the hotel upon a future visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam.
It is a modern, bright and very clean hotel.
Car parking was free for the weekend as it is in a business area. The hotel provides bicycles. There is also public transport into the centre, but we didn’t try that.
The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful both on arrival and departure.

We had a double room in a white and blue colour scheme, very fresh, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was relatively large with an excellent shower. There is air conditioning and also the option to tilt/open a window. The ‘wardrobe’ was an open hanging space, but that is fine as this is more of a business hotel designed for short stays.

Free and uncomplicated WIFI.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. There was a full range with something for everyone. No warm food, but various cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, eggs, warm rolls and pastries; a coffee machine with standard coffee, cappuccino, tea, juices and milk. There is also a small fridge with pre-packed portions of kosher food. The staff were continuously refilling plates and keeping the area clean – very pleasant and helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014


The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Amsterdam, close to the Van Boshuizenstraat tram stop and a pretty nature reserve called 'T Kleine Loopveld. It is a clean and modern hotel with friendly and knowledeable staff. The rooms have tea and coffee facilities but no mini-bar but you can get drinks any time at reception. A nice feature of the bathroom is a blue night light that saves one’s eyes from getting dazzled when getting up in the dark.

The hotel has a very international feel and cater for people of the Jewish faith with a Kosher breakfast and a ‘shabbat observer’ card which you can leave in your room so that the housekeeping staff leave the lights on.

You can hire bikes for 16 euros each per day which seems quite expensive when you consider that a 48 hour unlimited tram pass costs 12 euros (available from reception).

A great place to stay and you don’t get ripped off like some of the hotels in the main areas of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our facilities.
I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!


Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great staff and helpfull, calm rooms and the breakfast was delicious!
The Tram is only about 3 minutes by foot which bring's you downtown Amsterdam! There is a Public parking place near by and at the weekends with no charge
Great hotel for less money to explore Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read your notes and thank you so much for your compliments towards the helpfulness of our team members! I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Pros
Staff great and very helpful (as last reviewer said especially Inge)
Superb location with extensive tram and metro services right next to the hotel to take you into town. Easily accessible from Schiphol using Amsterdam Zuid station. Supermarket close by.
Rooms nice with a great shower and BBC 1/2 - quiet air con which makes a change from most hotels.
Cons
Not very much at all
Breakfast was included but it would have been nice to be able to get hot food like eggs. Very samey if you stay a few nights.
No restaurant on site but theres loads up town by taking Tram 5 to Leidesplein.
Amsterdam hotel tax collected on check out even though I'd prepaid for my stay. Can't blame hotel for the tax but still a bit of a shock to be asked to pay more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. From the outset the staff were first class ( especially Inge ) They were always on hand to assist and were more than helpful when it came to giving directiions etc. Room was clean and functional with maid service each day.Would defineately recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.