We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel outside the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights and had a great time. Hotel staff is very helpful and rooms were clean and tidy. Hotel is just two blocks from the tram and the #5 goes right into the city all the way to Centraal Station. Excellent value and the peace and quiet was appreciated after a long day walking around Amsterdam.

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: By a one or two day travel pass good for all tram and buses into and around the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    148
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
171
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during Easter 2014 for 3 nights. The location is very good and well connected by the tram to the Amsterdam central. The breakfast is good at the hotel too.
They have an excellent staff who is very helpful. We traveled with our 1 year old son and repeatedly asked them to for help in heating the milk and they always were ready to help with a smile on the face.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We drove from UK to Amsterdam and found it difficult to find a hotel in the city centre reasonably priced with parking so decided, with some reservations, to stay 3 miles out at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South (5-10min drive to centre). The reception was excellent the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. The bedroom was lovely the only downside for some may be the very limited open hanging space and no drawers only shelving but this wasn't a problem for us as we lived mainly out of our suitcase for only four nights. The ensuite had plenty of space for toilet bags etc.and a very good large walk in shower. Towels and linen were excellent. The hotel is in a quiet district with 3 restaurants and a takeaway within easy walking distance but be prepared for higher priced restaurants than in the UK! There are a few shops and a supermarket in a square almost outside the hotel. The tramline into Amsterdam is also nearby. Hotel's continental breakfast was perfect for us, good quality fresh tomatoes, cucumber, cold meats, cheese, bread etc. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor! I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for a conference at the RAI. An interesting place. It's kind if in the middle of a small suburb with no other hotels, restaurants etc,

Pros
Breakfast included in price
Breakfast is nice
Service was good
15-20 mins from city on tram
Right opposite a tram stop
Clean and modern rooms

Cons
Small reception/bar area
No gym
No iron in room
No safe in room
Have to get a tram to the RAI
Between rooms are quiet but noisy from corridor
No bars/restaurants immediately nearby

Overall, I'd stay here again as a tourist if you'd want to be out of town but wouldn't stay here for a conference at the RAI due to the commute (albeit short)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was on a cycle touring holiday of the Netherlands with 5 friends and our first stopover was at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South. What a great choice it was! We were allowed to store our bicycles safely within the hotel, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was superb. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I arrived very early in the morning off the Metro and found check-in really quick, well-prepared, and the welcoming to be quite cordial and friendly. The rooms themselves are generic Holiday Inn Express style but they are the newer, and better versions of the chain (compared to some of the older, un-refurbished hotels).

The style is much more sleek and modern and the bathroom is nicely designed and functional. The rooms are not super big, but that's very standard of European size.

Since this wasn't the UK, breakfast did not include any of the hot options, but the cold options were quite sufficient. There was a mix of cereal, bakery goods, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice and jam.

The hotel was generally quiet, and the views were fine. I didn't want to stay in central Amsterdam as it is quite hectic at times, and I felt this was a great hotel in the quieter, more business and suburban southern part. There is a Jumbo (supermarket) close by as well.

Overall, this is a really great hotel of the Holiday Inn/Intercontinental chain, and its prefect for business travelers, or those wanting a more relaxed feel of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room closer to the elevator as the corridors may be a bit tig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very decent newly build property in south of Amsterdam. We made a booking a day before as most of the city centre hotels were sold out for the weekend and got the booking. Very convenient for city visit with tram station at 5 mins walk and also zuid station at 10mins

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.