We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice hotel; good out of city base for exploring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite nice hotel; good out of city base for exploring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for a conference at the RAI. An interesting place. It's kind if in the middle of a small suburb with no other hotels, restaurants etc,

Pros
Breakfast included in price
Breakfast is nice
Service was good
15-20 mins from city on tram
Right opposite a tram stop
Clean and modern rooms

Cons
Small reception/bar area
No gym
No iron in room
No safe in room
Have to get a tram to the RAI
Between rooms are quiet but noisy from corridor
No bars/restaurants immediately nearby

Overall, I'd stay here again as a tourist if you'd want to be out of town but wouldn't stay here for a conference at the RAI due to the commute (albeit short)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    178
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
86
195
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was on a cycle touring holiday of the Netherlands with 5 friends and our first stopover was at the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam South. What a great choice it was! We were allowed to store our bicycles safely within the hotel, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was superb. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I arrived very early in the morning off the Metro and found check-in really quick, well-prepared, and the welcoming to be quite cordial and friendly. The rooms themselves are generic Holiday Inn Express style but they are the newer, and better versions of the chain (compared to some of the older, un-refurbished hotels).

The style is much more sleek and modern and the bathroom is nicely designed and functional. The rooms are not super big, but that's very standard of European size.

Since this wasn't the UK, breakfast did not include any of the hot options, but the cold options were quite sufficient. There was a mix of cereal, bakery goods, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice and jam.

The hotel was generally quiet, and the views were fine. I didn't want to stay in central Amsterdam as it is quite hectic at times, and I felt this was a great hotel in the quieter, more business and suburban southern part. There is a Jumbo (supermarket) close by as well.

Overall, this is a really great hotel of the Holiday Inn/Intercontinental chain, and its prefect for business travelers, or those wanting a more relaxed feel of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room closer to the elevator as the corridors may be a bit tig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very decent newly build property in south of Amsterdam. We made a booking a day before as most of the city centre hotels were sold out for the weekend and got the booking. Very convenient for city visit with tram station at 5 mins walk and also zuid station at 10mins

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

booked this in a package with the flight. 5 min to the tram which brings you in around 20 minutes to the center of amsterdam. nice hotel, only about two floors, in warm colours, the room was surpringsly large, double. reception extremly helpful and friendly !!!! great variety at breakfast. we really very postively surprised. this sure was a great deal and the hotel can be recommend without any doubts.
a supermarket is also nearby as well as a drugstore, bakery. free w-lan. the hotel is also offering a different variety at pillows.

Room Tip: hotel has not many floors and is a single standing building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed for a week 14-21 June. Rooms functional and clean, but it is the staff that make this place. Welcomed on arrival after near 30 hours travel from Australia with double espresso, and advice on where to go to stay up and get into local time zone. Nothing too much trouble for the front office staff.
Was pickpocketed on trams 3 hours prior to departure, and once again, office staff very helpful in helping me sort things out to leave and get to the airport.
Is close to tram/train and a quick trip into central Amsterdam. PLeasant short walk to VU Medical Centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South and for your time to write such a nice review.

I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

While located south of the downtown area of Amsterdam, this is an excellent option if you are looking for a nice clean hotel, priced much more reasonably than the city center hotels. It is only a 20 minute tram ride from this hotel to where all the action is in town.

The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is how clean and new it feels. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable (a pretty typical hotel room). The free breakfast was very nice and they offer a Kosher food option. The hotel is in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and located close to many of the synagogues.

While I have stayed in the city center on prior trips to Amsterdam at hotels that were far less comfortable, I will come back to this Holiday Inn Express on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. Thank you also for the nice compliments, I will forward them to my team. Hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#150 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.1 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.