We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Amsterdam South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Amsterdam South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived very early in the morning off the Metro and found check-in really quick, well-prepared, and the welcoming to be quite cordial and friendly. The rooms themselves are generic Holiday Inn Express style but they are the newer, and better versions of the chain (compared to some of the older, un-refurbished hotels).

The style is much more sleek and modern and the bathroom is nicely designed and functional. The rooms are not super big, but that's very standard of European size.

Since this wasn't the UK, breakfast did not include any of the hot options, but the cold options were quite sufficient. There was a mix of cereal, bakery goods, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice and jam.

The hotel was generally quiet, and the views were fine. I didn't want to stay in central Amsterdam as it is quite hectic at times, and I felt this was a great hotel in the quieter, more business and suburban southern part. There is a Jumbo (supermarket) close by as well.

Overall, this is a really great hotel of the Holiday Inn/Intercontinental chain, and its prefect for business travelers, or those wanting a more relaxed feel of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room closer to the elevator as the corridors may be a bit tig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    116
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
146
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very decent newly build property in south of Amsterdam. We made a booking a day before as most of the city centre hotels were sold out for the weekend and got the booking. Very convenient for city visit with tram station at 5 mins walk and also zuid station at 10mins

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked this in a package with the flight. 5 min to the tram which brings you in around 20 minutes to the center of amsterdam. nice hotel, only about two floors, in warm colours, the room was surpringsly large, double. reception extremly helpful and friendly !!!! great variety at breakfast. we really very postively surprised. this sure was a great deal and the hotel can be recommend without any doubts.
a supermarket is also nearby as well as a drugstore, bakery. free w-lan. the hotel is also offering a different variety at pillows.

Room Tip: hotel has not many floors and is a single standing building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week 14-21 June. Rooms functional and clean, but it is the staff that make this place. Welcomed on arrival after near 30 hours travel from Australia with double espresso, and advice on where to go to stay up and get into local time zone. Nothing too much trouble for the front office staff.
Was pickpocketed on trams 3 hours prior to departure, and once again, office staff very helpful in helping me sort things out to leave and get to the airport.
Is close to tram/train and a quick trip into central Amsterdam. PLeasant short walk to VU Medical Centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South and for your time to write such a nice review.

I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While located south of the downtown area of Amsterdam, this is an excellent option if you are looking for a nice clean hotel, priced much more reasonably than the city center hotels. It is only a 20 minute tram ride from this hotel to where all the action is in town.

The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is how clean and new it feels. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable (a pretty typical hotel room). The free breakfast was very nice and they offer a Kosher food option. The hotel is in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and located close to many of the synagogues.

While I have stayed in the city center on prior trips to Amsterdam at hotels that were far less comfortable, I will come back to this Holiday Inn Express on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. Thank you also for the nice compliments, I will forward them to my team. Hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Schiphol airport train (€2.60) to Amsterdam Zuid (direction Utrecht Centraal) 8-10 minutes. We will then use the IAmsterdam card to take Tram 5 or Metro 51 (direction Westwijk) to Van Boshuizenstraat stop. Hotel was able to store our luggage, but rooms were available and we checked in and went on a canal cruise. The staff at this hotel are outstanding and met our every need. We were a party of 5 with 3 rooms and had breakfast included in out room rate. Anything we asked for or wanted, the hotel staff was very accommodating. Both of the restaurant recommendations were great and we enjoyed our stay. How can you go wrong with the best from Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very new and clean hotel.
Express service: quick breakfast, check-in, check-out. Efficient. Crowded.
Rooms and beds are small.
Airconditioning silent.

5-10 min walk to Ziggo Dome, Arena, Heineken Music Hall, Train Station (train takes 15 min to Amsterdam Central) and other Arena facilities, shops, restaurant.

Parking 20 euros a day.
When going into the city, park at Arena P1 and get a P+R (park & ride) ticket. You can park all day for 8 euro's when you bought your metroticket at the GVB kiosk within the garage.

Holiday Inn Express reception is on the 2nd floor. Ground floor is for the general Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It was nice to read your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your compliments!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.