We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Citrus Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was a great place to stay. Close to Metro to get downtown. Great Rooms good bed. Great bathroom. The Breakfast had plenty of good choices. Great little restaurant around the corner. Would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    116
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
62
146
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I have left my receipt of the City Tax I paid at the hotel. I emailed the hotel, requesting them to send it to me. The receipt was sent to me within 30 minutes. I really appreciated their efficiency.
I have to add that I enjoyed their service and hospitality very much. I will definitely stay in the hotel when I go to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South!
It's great that you have appreciated the Holiday Inn Express concept that we deliver.

We look forward welcoming you back in our hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind Regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel room is really spacious and clean. Location is just 2 mins walk from tram station which will take you to central within 15 mins. Tram is frequent and along the way stop at station for Van Gogh museum and rijksmuseum which can't be missed. Only 15 mins away from airport and honestly the sound of planes flying over is NOT at all disturbing.
Breakfast is more than sufficient with boiled egg, cereal and the usual cold cuts.
The staff are super friendly and helped in direction, booking of taxi to airport. Day pass for tram available at reception.
Surely will go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and our team did a great job. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice HI Express, fairly new looking. It is fairly close to AMS airport and 100 yards from metro/tram stop. You need to take train from Schiphol to Amsterdam Zuid station then connect to metro line 51. It takes about 20-25 min not counting the time figuring out how everything works. Taking the tram to downtown Amsterdam takes 20-30 minutes depending where you are going. Price includes breakfast. There is free wifi, rooms are clean and property is well kept.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a city break to Amsterdam and chose it mainly due to the other reports on Trip Adviser.
Booking in was very friendly and for that matter so were all of the staff in the hotel. Our room overlooked the tram line to the city and also work being carried out in front of it. This was not a problem as the double glazing kept any noise at bay.
The room was very clean and tidy, and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was of the continental type, but was of good quality and plentiful. The croissants were lovely.
We hesitated about booking this hotel due to the distance from the centre, but due to the very close proximity of the tram and metro line, this turned out to be absolutely fine. It took between 15 to 30 minutes to reach the centre, easily.
One tip: If you want to go out of Amsterdam to see a bit more of the region get a 24 hour regional ticket from the tourist information offices either at Central or Zuid stations for 13.50 euros. This covers trams, buses and metros and can include Keukenhof and the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a nice place to stay in Amsterdam. Although it is out of the city center, it is conveniently located on the #5 tram and #51 metro lines - less than 1/2 an hour from Central Station. When you get off the transit, go to your right toward the shopping mall, go through the mall to your right and you will see the hotel on your left - less than 2 minute walk. The staff were all so welcoming, friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions, gave us printed directions to the destinations we asked for and went out of their way to be helpful. We left on Sunday morning before the breakfast officially started, so they made us a nice take-away bag. The breakfast is quite nice, even including Kosher items and is certainly more than sufficient. The room was comfortable - you even had a choice of pillows - clean with a nice bathroom. The only drawback is that there really is no storage so you have to keep your things in your suitcase. Not a problem for a short stay. It was very quiet. The WiFi is fast, easy to use and free.
We had dinner both nights at the nearby bistro La Brochette, which was very good. The ribs are to die for and the portion is so large that two of us couldn't finish it! The shopping mall has a large grocery store, liquor store, deli, meat market, pharmacy so you can easily buy food to eat in. There are not many restaurants in the area. We were able to take the tram and bus to the airport, which was much less expensive than a taxi and only took about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am glad you had a nice time in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in while in Amsterdam, particularly due to the friendliness of the staff. I especially found Lauren to be really helpful, even walked us outside the hotel to help us figure out the parking. You don't need a car to go into the city. There is frequent train (subway) and tram service just 1/2 block from the hotel. The hotel even sells 1 and 2 day train/tram tickets. Also, there are nearby shops, including a small food market. There are a couple of computers to use in the lobby, breakfast is included, and they even have an ice machine (which is particularly nice for those of us who like extra cold drinks). Rooms, of course, were clean and comfortable. We were VERY happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for these lovely comments! It makes me really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.