We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a nice place to stay in Amsterdam. Although it is out of the city center, it is conveniently located on the #5 tram and #51 metro lines - less than 1/2 an hour from Central Station. When you get off the transit, go to your right toward the shopping mall, go through the mall to your right and you will see the hotel on your left - less than 2 minute walk. The staff were all so welcoming, friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions, gave us printed directions to the destinations we asked for and went out of their way to be helpful. We left on Sunday morning before the breakfast officially started, so they made us a nice take-away bag. The breakfast is quite nice, even including Kosher items and is certainly more than sufficient. The room was comfortable - you even had a choice of pillows - clean with a nice bathroom. The only drawback is that there really is no storage so you have to keep your things in your suitcase. Not a problem for a short stay. It was very quiet. The WiFi is fast, easy to use and free.
We had dinner both nights at the nearby bistro La Brochette, which was very good. The ribs are to die for and the portion is so large that two of us couldn't finish it! The shopping mall has a large grocery store, liquor store, deli, meat market, pharmacy so you can easily buy food to eat in. There are not many restaurants in the area. We were able to take the tram and bus to the airport, which was much less expensive than a taxi and only took about 45 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am glad you had a nice time in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    121
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
157
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in while in Amsterdam, particularly due to the friendliness of the staff. I especially found Lauren to be really helpful, even walked us outside the hotel to help us figure out the parking. You don't need a car to go into the city. There is frequent train (subway) and tram service just 1/2 block from the hotel. The hotel even sells 1 and 2 day train/tram tickets. Also, there are nearby shops, including a small food market. There are a couple of computers to use in the lobby, breakfast is included, and they even have an ice machine (which is particularly nice for those of us who like extra cold drinks). Rooms, of course, were clean and comfortable. We were VERY happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for these lovely comments! It makes me really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is a quite nice and clean hotel in south Amsterdam not that far from the airport.The hotel is located just 2 minutes' walk away from the tram and metro stop. The tram line takes you directly through Amsterdam's main attractions and you don't even need to transfer. This is very convenient, but the trip itself will take you from 30-45 minutes depending on which site you want to visit.
There is a medium sized supermarket next to the tram stop.
From the hotel it will take you around 30 minutes to get to/from Schiphol.
The hotel service is very good and the staff is very helpfull.
The breakfast is quite good with a decent assortment of fresh and tasty food.

The only problem with the hotel is the frequent noise of landing planes due to the proximity to the airport. Closing windows helps of course but you still hear them quite well. This noise goes on well into the evening/night.
Also there is quite a lot of noise of closing doors from the elevator area. The air movement from these closing doors makes the nearest room doors also virate quite loudly. In practice this means that rooms near the elevators are not good for light sleepers. I put a towel between the door and frame for the night which stopped the vibration :-)

All in all I recommend this hotel if you don't need to be in the center of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator unless you want to listen to doors bang all night and day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also thank you for noticing the friendliness of the staff. I’ll let them know that you appreciated their efforts.

I am so sorry about the noise you experienced in your room. The rooms on the rightside of our hotel are away from the elevator and quieter, and I would be happy to book a room for you in this location on your next visit.

Again, thank you for your feedback and my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience.
Please consider staying with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have never stayed in any hotel with better service, including the few 5 stars I have visited, Inge at front desk treated us like family. When our Tuk Tuk tour did not show up she called several times, made us a cup of tea while we waited for over an hour. When they said they weren't coming at all, she seemed more upset than we were. By the way, the hotel did not book the tour. We booked it on line from home before we left. Hotel was immaculate, very large room and totally convenient to all transportation. I would not recommend anyone to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
It’s our pleasure to offer you great service.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit any time soon.

Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Located south of the city with excellent transportation. The staff is incredibly helpful. To my knowledge, this is the only brand hotel outside of Israel that has a glatt kosher breakfast. They have Sabbath keys, a Sabbath lamp and even leave the electric sliding door to the hotel open for Sabbath observers..Most of the kosher restaurants and grocery stores of Amsterdam are located only steps away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor! Our hotel is happy to accommodate the needs of our Shabbat- and kashrut observing guests.
It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and appreciate our services!

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We came to amsterdam for 2 days ,1 night.
I search not expensive hotel with high standart which this hotel what is
we checked in around 10 am and get our room -well done!
We have little kosher breakfest that was fine.
The area is very nice ,only 20 min. from city center by tram or metro .
All in all great hotel with exellent service .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am glad you had a nice time in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were pleased we'd chosen to stay at this hotel rather than in the centre of Amsterdam, as it is in such a quiet location and so easy to reach by tram and by metro. As others have said, the stops for both are only minutes away; both are regular and take only about 20 minutes to Amsterdam Central.
The staff couldn't be more helpful - would that all hotel staff were as pleasant!
The hotel is modern and in good repair. We were a little disappointed with the size of our bedroom and the fact that there was no wardrobe (there wasn't room for one), just a short, open rail for our clothing. If you stay for one or two nights that's not so bad, but we were there for five. The bathroom was quite spacious however, with plenty of counter space for all our toiletries. The shower was excellent. It was nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room - quite a rarity in European hotels, in our experience. (The milk is powdered though - we bought some 'real'). The hotel in general is extremely clean and well maintained.
The breakfast is fine - no hot food, but there is plenty of choice otherwise - cereals, many different types of bread, Danish pastries, juices, fruit, cheeses, ham, and so on. Certainly no need to go hungry! The staff were helpful here, too - tables are cleared as soon as someone leaves.
We will certainly use this hotel next time we visit Amsterdam, although I would request a bigger room.

Room Tip: If you are staying any length of time, ask for a sizeable room with a wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.