We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Luxurious for the Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“So Luxurious for the Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My hubby and I booked a last minute trip to Amsterdam and there were very few choices to be had in regards to hotels. I was originally bummed I couldn't find availability at a nice hotel in central Amsterdam.
When we arrived I was pleasantly shocked by how nice this Holiday Inn was! The staff was very friendly, the hotel seemed brand new and the room was wonderful! It was so big! The bathroom had a wonderful stand alone shower. The only negative was that the hot water and water pressure in the shower kept changing. It was very difficult to find a warm setting without burning my skin or freezing myself. The room was super clean and the beds were very comfortable. I love how they had "hard" and "soft" pillows to choose from.
I found the location actually very ideal. It was in a quite area compared to central Amsterdam. The metro was about 2 minutes from the hotel and it was a scenic 20 minute ride into town. Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and are willing to share these experiences with fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    123
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
159
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and i stayed here from 5th-8th April and in short THIS HOTEL IS AMAZING!!!!

GREAT LOCATION....tram stop yards from hotel and just a short 20 mins ride into town....fabulous!!! Supermarket, flower shop, bakery and pharmacy right beside hotel with decent prices not tourist prices. Such a quiet area at nigt! Bliss!!

GREAT STAFF....they couldnt do enough for us, so polite, their english is superb!!

This hotel is uber clean and modern...i challenge u to find an unclean surface!! ROOMS ARE SPOTLESS, CLEANED REGULARLY AND SOMETHING YOUD EXPECT OF A 5 STAR HOTEL NOT 3!!

BREAKFAST IS GREAT....good selection and the bread rolls are yummy!!!

PRICE IS EXCELLENT CONSIDERING YOU PAY OVER €500 for 3 nites with no breakfast in a 2 star dirty hovel around dam square.

I CANNOT SPEAK HIGHLY ENOUGH OF THIS WONDERFUL HOTEL....WILL BE STAYING HERE AGAIN ON OUR NEXT TRIP TO AMSTERDAM FOR SURE!! AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to fellow travelers very much and I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuidlaren, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located close to tram line 5. If you do not want to go out at night, or would like to be in the middle of the buzzbuzz of a major city, this is a hotel with usually a very good price-quality relationship. Breakfast is always included in the room rate, and the price for single and double occupancy are the same, the hotel is clean, not very noisy with very friendly and has a helpful staff. The basic breakfast is simple but good. Kosher food is also available. We had a good stay.

Room Tip: Sometimes there is the noise of landing Airpalnes from Schiphol. Could be that you hear this less in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is just a 25-minute journey out of Centraal Station on the No. 5 tram or the No. 51 Metro, which stop just a three minute walk away. Tickets for unlimited travel for any number of days are available at Centraal Station.

The room was extremely clean and evenings and nights were very comfortably quiet. The staff were wonderful - always greeting you with a smile when you returned and most helpful when planning what to do during the day. There are a few restaurants within a walk from the hotel but (recommended by staff) the Indonesian Takeaway is well worth a visit - and the Hotel is quite happy for you to use the breakfast dining area, plates and cutlery to enjoy the meal in peace, with the bonus of the small hotel bar nearby.

We really would recommend the Holiday Inn Express South and, the next time we visit Amsterdam, we will certainly make for this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very glad to hear you spent a nice time in Amsterdam. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This really is a good Hotel. The service is excellent and the friendly staff helpful. The Hotel in general is first rate and a continental breakfast is included. The rooms are nicely furnished, soundproofed, well appointed and tended daily by the service staff. The hotel is only 25 minutes from Amsterdam central station by metro (No 51 line). The Number 5 tram provides a different route into central Amsterdam. Both of these are only 100 - 150 yards from the entrance of the Hotel which is easy to spot from the station platform. There is a good supermarket again only 150 yards away. You can purchase the superb public transport passes from the hotel reception. Wonderful stay, will definitely return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Great value, and a short trip into town makes this place a very good deal.
Free parking on the weekends also.
Only downside is limited local restaurants, just eat in town instead, and go to cafe de klos.
Catch train to Centraal then just wander.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mantua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean, good size and quiet room. Good staff. Very close to the public transport, tram 5 the best way to go to the main attractions in the center. Public parking at reasonable price. Free wifi and breakfast included.
Breakfast area too small compared to the number of rooms, it might be difficult to find a table.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.