We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as described” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, Amsterdam 1081AP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
bethesda md
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exactly as described”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pros
Newer hotel
Wonderful staff
Parking on site which is reasonable
Great breakfast
Close to public transportation
Free wifi
Reasonable rates

Con
Beds not as comfortable as full service Holiday Inns

Overall great experience. I recommend it if you are going to the VU or RAI as well going downtown ( both metro and tram car begin 100 yards from hotel and it is 20 minutes to downtown).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    113
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
146
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torino di Sangro, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in HIE Amsterdam south for 2 nights. We went there because of the rate and because it is not far from Schiphol. It is a great hotel, very accommodating with a nice breakfast and a nice room. The airport is 20 minutes away by train and subway. To get to the city we jumped on the 5 line Tram, about 20 minutes ride to the Dam. The service is good and all was good, we absolute enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 9 nights over Christmas and new year 2013 / 2014.

Absolutely loved it !

My parents so flew in to stay in this hotel (we came from Dubai & they came from Scotland & we were meeting for Christmas). Their flights were delayed by a day due to the storms in Scotland, and the hotel changed their booking without any problems. We were over the moon ! (Most hotels are money grabbing & don't care, in my experience)

The breakfast was nice. It may not be what everybody wants, but it really worked well for us. Plenty of toast, cheeses, spread etc as well as some Dutch items and even some kosher items, that I'd never tried before so decided to give it a go !!

The staff were awesome. Always friendly and even keen on a joke here and there! (Makes all the difference).

The room was nice & we especially liked the shower - nice and hot and powerful !

My only tiny complaint, if I had to mention one, would be that the heating system really dried out the air in the room, I had slight nose bleeds due to the air dryness.


The hotel is on the metro line 5 and 51, both of which take about 15 minutes to get into Amsterdam Central. Cost €7 a day each for unlimited travel - which also got us back to the airport for our flight home, saving us about 50 euro !

I'd rate the hotel about a 8.5-9 / 10. Other hotels could learn a thing or two from this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our last night here tonight. Not happy at having to go home. Normally I stay at citizenM hotel but as we brought our son that was not feasible. Thought we would be going a little downmarket coming here but we were wrong. The hotel facilities are excellent the breakfast alone makes it worthwhile coming here.
Staff are absolutely first class, so friendly, knowledgeable and so helpful. We booked through Hotels.com who messed up our booking. Staff here resolved the issue not caused by the hotel and asked all in our party to accept a complimentary drink for the inconvenience. Now that is service.
I think even when we come here without son the next time we will give the citizenM a miss and make this hotel our new first choice in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marshall
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and the room very nice. The shower was terrific! Great water pressure. The hotel is located close to the tram or train (a block away), making it easy to get around. We had a very early morning flight the next day and because we were leaving before the complimentary breakfast, they prepared an extensive "bag breakfast" for us to take to the airport. It had meat, cheese, and bagel and roll to make a sandwich. A hard boiled egg and apple were included, along with a chocolate croissant! And that was not to share...we were each given a bag. It was our first time in Amsterdam, and the staff provided us a map and directions about the tram. It was a wonderful experience, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We did not spend any amount of time in the area of the hotel, but there was a convenience store on the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn is conveniently located, especially if you have a car. There is a parking lot near the hotel (on a first come, first served basis. 25 euros/night, which isn't bad for Amsterdam), other parking spaces around the hotel (significantly more expensive) and free street parking from Friday night till Sunday morning. Nothing interesting around the hotel (looks like a residential area. You need to take the tram to the city center, which is less than 20 minutes away..The tram stop is right by the hotel. The room was nice, except for the bathroom, which wasn't as clean as it should have been. I would have complained about it had I not checked in really late, after a seven-hour drive. I'm sure that if I had, the staff would have fixed the problem, because they seem to form a good, professional team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The staff was wonderul, the room were spacious and clean, continental breakfast with all kind of bread and fresh fruit and good location. Buy a public transport ticket at the front desk, tram 5 leaves next to the hotel and takes you down town amsterdam within 20 minutes!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, Amsterdam 1081AP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.