We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Osprey, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great stay at this very modern hotel. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was modern and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They had our room ready even though we arrive early, helped us with tickets, logistics and sightseeing advice and providing us with wine glasses for our evening drinks. They were very accommodating when we got food from the local store and set up for our dinner and drinks in the breakfast area (we were very careful to leave it tidy when we left since it was such a treat to have somewhere for us to all sit down and eat together). At first, we were concerned about the distance to town, but the tram stop was very close and it was an easy and pleasant ride in and out of town. The convenience of the grocery store, Jumbo, was an added plus. We enjoyed the breakfast which we found filling and tasty. We were in room 1 which we were concerned was very close to the lobby and the door which led onto our hallway, but we were not disturbed at all by any noise. We found the room location very convenient for access to the front door, the lobby and the breakfast dining area. We loved having the free wi-fi and the use of their two computers if we needed them. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    123
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
159
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an amazing place. Starting with the warm welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, and quiet. In a convenient location, just next to the tram towards the city center (arrives every 5 minutes and takes only 20 min) and to the train to the air port.
The hotel also offered bikes for rent. It was a great experience biking in the beautiful area like Amsterdam bush that is nearby.
As Orthodox Jews it was the best experience ever. The hotel offered Kosher products for breakfast, Kosher snacks, and all the facilities for observing Shabbat (including Shabbat lamp and key) in a pleasant way. All the staff were aware of the special needs and were soooo understanding and kind. The hotel is in walking distance from synagogues and kosher restaurants.
Definitely the place to be and we very much hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Amsterdam in May for 4 nights. We were interested in visiting the different museums and places of interest and the hotel's location was very convenient. Amsterdam has excellent public transportation and it helped us that the hotel was a few minutes walk from the tram stop - within 15 - 30 minutes you can be at any of the tourist spots. At around 100 Euros a night (breakfast included) it was an excellent "value for money" option (Amsterdam is an expensive city with respect to hotel tariffs). The reception staff were extremely helpful with directions / information. The breakfast had a decent spread and we had no reasons to complain.

If we were to visit Amsterdam again we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. We are very pleased to read you had a good experience and that we can welcome you back in our hotel.

For bookings please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our 3rd year to Amsterdam but our 1st time at this hotel staying 3 nights and we were not disappointed . On arrival of the hotel it was so easy to find off the metro which was approximately a 2 minute walk . The outside of the hotel was impressive and was located in a quiet area just outside the city , surrounded by a little town which was lovely , with a fantastic supermarket . The check in process was excellent the staff were very friendly . The room was were very clean and fresh and with plenty of room . The bathroom was a decent size with a fantastic walk in shower that was immaculate . The beds were 2 singles joined together and were massive , very comfortable and a choice of pillows were available , there was also a selection of teas available . The breakfast on the morning was lovely with a wide range of cereals , fresh juice , hams and cheeses , toast , mini muffins as well as little jams etc for your toast and also tea and coffee .
In the hallway there was also free access to the internet with 2 computers , you could also get free wifi on your phone .
The transport to the city was fab , for people who like exploring it was wonderful . We had a choice of the tram or the metro . The metro we had to change at sparlweg which was not a problem . We used the tram and took about 20 minutes to get to the city but it was amazing to see different sights and places we had not explored . If your travelling into the city it always advisable to purchase a 3 day travel card ( if your staying 3 days , but can always purchase 2 day , 4 day etc etc ) this means you have unlimited travel which is fantastic on the trams or metro . We also visited Amstelveen which was the opposite direction from the city but used the same tram and only took 10 minutes from the hotel . The tram and metro services run every 5 minutes so very frequent . I would recommend this hotel to anyone and to those who like to explore . We will definatly be staying here again as we loved it .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your "Excellent" review! I have shared your comments with our team to read.

We are very much looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff in the hotel were great, the rooms were extra clean and also the hotel facilities. Free WiFi !!!! And computers in the lobby.
Great running park near the hotel and quiet environment to take a walk.
Fare breakfast and supermarket right across the corner.
Transportation to city center takes 30 minutes with a Tram and Metro that located 100 meters from the hotel. The way to the airport is super fast and takes 40 minutes in public transportation.
Great experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights in August . Hotel is in quite area very near tram and subway platform .Good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly helpfull staff.We did have a problem with the air conditioning in our room and there was a monetary issue regarding a 4th night we had booked but had to cancel ; but to the credit of Manager Linda De Jong these issues were resolved to our satisfaction and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. WE enjoyed our stay and recomend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We used our IHG reward points to book this hotel in Amsterdam. Please disregard the Google maps when checking how close this hotel is to the metro/tram lines. This one is extremely close. I would say less than 100 meters. Metro 51 and Tram #5 takes to you Amsterdam central in 10-15 minutes. The hotel staff was kind enough to allow us to check-in at 8AM when we arrived directly from the airport. They also allowed us to eat from the free breakfast buffet. The room was clean and cozy. I liked the shower area. Very relaxing after an all-day trip to Amsterdam attractions. The buffet breakfast is worth it. It's a European style breakfast with choices of croissants, yougurts, boiled eggs and the regular items. My 5 yr old kid was happy to eat there. The room had good sound proofing to allow us some good sleep. There is a big supermarket 'Jumbo' right in front of the Metro station where you get all fruits and vegetables and drinks. There is a small selection of Deli sandwiches as well. There are some eateries near the hotel as well, but we did not try them. To reach the hotel from the airport, take tickets to Zuid and take the inter-city train going to Amsterdam central. From Zuid, take Metro 51 which is at the same station (but different platform) or come out of the station and take tram 51. I will recommend this hotel to others and stay here for my next visit to AMS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.