We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Tecumseh, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights in August . Hotel is in quite area very near tram and subway platform .Good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly helpfull staff.We did have a problem with the air conditioning in our room and there was a monetary issue regarding a 4th night we had booked but had to cancel ; but to the credit of Manager Linda De Jong these issues were resolved to our satisfaction and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. WE enjoyed our stay and recomend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    119
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
152
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We used our IHG reward points to book this hotel in Amsterdam. Please disregard the Google maps when checking how close this hotel is to the metro/tram lines. This one is extremely close. I would say less than 100 meters. Metro 51 and Tram #5 takes to you Amsterdam central in 10-15 minutes. The hotel staff was kind enough to allow us to check-in at 8AM when we arrived directly from the airport. They also allowed us to eat from the free breakfast buffet. The room was clean and cozy. I liked the shower area. Very relaxing after an all-day trip to Amsterdam attractions. The buffet breakfast is worth it. It's a European style breakfast with choices of croissants, yougurts, boiled eggs and the regular items. My 5 yr old kid was happy to eat there. The room had good sound proofing to allow us some good sleep. There is a big supermarket 'Jumbo' right in front of the Metro station where you get all fruits and vegetables and drinks. There is a small selection of Deli sandwiches as well. There are some eateries near the hotel as well, but we did not try them. To reach the hotel from the airport, take tickets to Zuid and take the inter-city train going to Amsterdam central. From Zuid, take Metro 51 which is at the same station (but different platform) or come out of the station and take tram 51. I will recommend this hotel to others and stay here for my next visit to AMS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My initial reason for choosing this hotel was for its convenience to the RAI Conference Center--which indeed it turned out to be. I actually stayed at the hotel for an entire week. What I came to realize after a few days was how much I appreciated this choice. I have stayed at more central hotels in the past, but being in this location gave me a view of Amsterdam I found very valuable--among real people, largely away from touristy areas. I walked to a nearby park, or just in the neighborhood, and felt a peace that's just about impossible to have in the city's more central area. But with both the tram and the metro stop literally a block away, getting into town was really easy. And the hotel is near a late-night bus stop as well, so even if you want to stay in the center until the wee hours of the night, it's very easy getting back to the hotel by bus (but be sure to pay attention to the late-night bus schedule).

The staff couldn't have been friendlier. This became clear from the moment of my arrival: I had taken an overnight flight to Amsterdam, and arrived at the hotel around 9 am. I was immediately invited to join in the breakfast buffet if I wished, and then to get settled a bit later. They were even able to get me into my room hours before the official time.

The room was comfortable--granted that it was on the small side. Everything was squeaky clean. Nights were quiet, sleeping easy.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a very quite area with some stores around... we had a great rest away from the city center. It would be good if we could have an alternative transportation nearby since the train did not operate and it was saturday so we have to wait quite long for the tram in the morning to reach the city center.
The room was great and clean.... excellent pillows. The bathroom was great and clean. The breakfast was great, we love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent six days with my family at this Holiday Inn Express. I would rate it as good to very good. The staff was very friendly. The location was a bit out out of town. Tram #5 was about a 150meter walk and takes about 20 minutes to get to the middle of the Amsterdam proper and about 40 minutes to the Central Station because it makes a lot of stops. This is not bad, just something you need to plan for. Trams arrive about every eight minutes so there is virtually no wait. The hotel has no parking of its own. You park next door at a public parking lot for 8.40Euros per day. Be sure to have a credit/debit card car with a smart chip otherwise the bloody machine won't work for you. It doesn't take cash or cards with only a magnetic strip. The rooms are built for two but you can get by with three. The extra bed might not be too comfortable but will be sufficient for kids and teenagers. My wife and daughter thought the bathroom was small because there was no place to put all of their cosmetics. There was no closet space. If you've ever been to a Holiday Inn Express then you already know what to expect. Breakfast was fine. The food was okay. The bread and cheeses were fine. There was kosher food for Jewish folks. Bottom line, we had a great time and this Holiday Inn Express was just right for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel was in a wonderful quiet area away from the busy city centre. We were so glad we were staying outside of the city when we saw the police riot vans appear each evening in the centre. We could enjoy Amsterdam during the day and after our evening meal simply catch a tram (number 5)to the hotel with peach and quiet.
The hotel staff were lovely. They supplied us with a map and circled the areas we had previously booked or simply wanted to see. We bought the tram tickets from the reception and it was as simple as that. The tram stop was a few minutes walk from the hotel
The room was clean, bright and so comfortable. There was lots of storage space and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was held in a bright room with a huge continental selection.
Would I stay again?
I certainly would.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday. We found the all staff members to be absolutely polite, friendly, helpful and informative.

The Good - THUMBS UP!!
The hotel is 15mins from the airport.
We got into our room early.
The room was an adequate size - fresh, clean and tidy - the usual Holiday Inn style!!!
The shower room was spotless with an ample supply of clean towels.
The shower cubicle was roomy with a great power shower.
Breakfast was adequate for me.
Location of hotel was great, very very quiet in a residential area....very clean and we felt safe even when out at night.
The 5 Tram was so close to the hotel and within 20mins you're in the middle of Dam Square. The 72 hour travel card was great and very economical.

The 'not so good' - THUMBS DOWN!!
We booked a double bed and got twin beds.
The beds are extremely soft and uncomfortable - i am not exaggerating here!!! After walking all day and taking a shower you just want to rest your body on a firm supportive bed.
Not enough TV stations. I am not asking for 50 stations but with only BBC1, BBC2 a couple of music stations and 1 movie station (True Movies from the 80's) - need a couple of current stations.
My husband would like to have had a hot breakfast with fried/scrambled eggs and beans.

All in all this hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.