We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and inexpensive hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Raleigh
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average and inexpensive hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is not intended to be a bad review. A three is average and that us about right. The hotel and room was clean, modern and minimalist. A pet peeve with Holiday Inn Express is that they don't provide bottles of shampoo, conditioner or bars of soap. Instead, there is a single built in dispenser with a liquid that is supposedly all three. Not a fan. Also, the pillows are very thick, both the firm and regular types. Had a neck ache the next morning. There is a close metro stop that goes downtown. Beware that the ticket machine at that stop will not accept regular (American) credit cards, coins or bills. It only takes smart chip cards. Big pain in the neck. Breakfast was not great but rather sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear RaleighBri,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I appreciate the fact that you found the rooms to be clean. Our aim is to provide all of our guests a unique stay and great customer service. I am sorry that the bathroom amenities and breakfast were not up to your standards and also apologize for any discomfort caused by the pillows. Rest assure your comments are valued and aid in the improvement of our services and amenities.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    123
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
159
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel, though relatively simple, is very pleasant with very cordial and helpful staff. It is centrally located, close to a main thoroughfare with light rail that gets you to the city center in 20 minutes. The only minor issue was that the room lacks closets and its cleaning had some room for improvement.

The hotel is ideal for observant jewiesh customers, as it's location is in the jewish area, very nearby to several synagogues with daily services, to the kosher shops and to most kosher restaurants, and offers an option for a kosher breakfast at the same price as the non-kosher one). The only issue is that for some the notation of what is kosher and what is not may be confusing and kosher produce should be more clearly indicated and separated from the remainder.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My brother was on a short business visit in Europe in november and we decided to meet in Amsterdam. He booked this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor. It was a great decision because I can't think of anything that was missing for the purpose of our trip (leisure, just looking for a clean and quiet room with decent breakfast and well located, to spend a night in beautiful Amsterdam).
I have acid reflux which requires me to sleep only on beds with a raised frame (if you have gerd/reflux you know what I'm talking about!) and I usually email hotels in advance to prepare the room for this. And in this hotel the personnel prepared the room upon my arrival as requested. It was overall a great experience. Totally recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on a Friday and Saturday and found the stay perfect for us. Yes, it is 25 mins by Tram from Central Station, but the advantage is you are staying in a quiet hotel for a good night's sleep. The room we had was superb, clean, warm and modern with tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very good, with fresh breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit juices, croissants etc. in a self service area.
I found all the staff to be extremely helpful, cheerful and polite who happily provided us with secure storage for our bicycles as we were on a touring break.
Thank you for a great weekend in a great city and we will definately stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam South again when we are in Holland.

Room Tip: As there is limited restaurant options within easy walking distance, use the Tram to the centre of A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great: the staff, the building, the room, the cleanliness, all top-notch. Its only downside to some people will be that it is far away from the Amsterdam Centre, but at only 20mins with the very frequent Tram (the hotel is practically next to the tram stop) it was no problem for us.

Oh, and the breakfast was absolutely DELICIOUS (the packed cheese slices were very reassuring for their quality)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is located very far away from the center, you need to get the tram to go to the center. If by chance the tram doesn't work then you are in big trouble, not only because no one tells you what happens and from where you can take another tram, but also because if you take a 1hour ticket, you might need to get another ticket because the time has expired. The rooms are very small, the bathroom also, you got a double room and we barely had space to move in the room. The closet consits in a sort of hangers that are put in the room in the plain sight next to the bed- so travel light because not only you wont' have space for all the clothes to put on the hangers, but also you will take space from the room- not kidding. Cleanning- the sheets are clean ancd changed daily, the bathroom is clean, but the dust stays with you for all the period, so if you travel single you wil have the dust as a companion. Breakfast- very poor: 3 types of gouda cheese packed in a one portion packages, one type of salami, boiled eggs, and two other types of meat products, everything packed in a one portion. Then there are cereals, bread, 2 types of vegetables, croissants and 2 other types of bakery products.Also butter and Philadelphia. That's all. Coffee - horrible. Try only Caffe Latte, maybe adding a little bit of milk. And the water is served with ice, even though outside there are 3grd. Parking- ask exactly how you can pay the parking, otherwise you might get a fine. We didn't receive any information on the parking , we had to pay the fine and more than that had the pleasure to be treated extremely bad by the manager who has no customer care knowledge and moreover is so extremely rude that you rather change hotel immediately than stay again there. Another thing - they seem nice and smile, but as soon as you turn you head away they make some faces you didn't even believe it. So, if you have no other choice than to stay here, be very carefull. The quality of the rooms and the services are very bad for a hotel that costs at least 100euro/night.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the opposite side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks for sharing your experience. With regards to our product; Holiday Inn Express provides a complete package with rooms of 20m2, bathroom with shower, free continental breakfast and free wifi which meets, and luckily in many cases exceeds, the expectations our guests. Unfortunately this was not the case for you. We feel sorry to read about your parking fine at the public parking around the hotel. Since the hotel does not offer its own private parking, we do not always have sight on who is arriving by public transport or by car. Therefore we do our utmost to inform our guests in advance (for instance via our website) regarding the several options for parking and public transport, which is widely available around the hotel. Nonetheless, we will make sure to make the parking conditions of the city of Amsterdam are more visible to our guests in the hotel.

Sincerely,


Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

So how can an Amsterdam hotel that is far away from the center and has "Express" as part of its name be so high on the rankings? Here's all you need to know:

Location: The hotel is located south of the city and its location is essentially its only fault, though not a major one. the hotel is about 100 meters from a tram and metro station from where you can take the #5 tram through Museumplein (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh), Leidseplein and Dam Square all the way to Centraal Station, or take the #51 metro line that passes through Waterlooplein (Hermitage Museum and market) and Nieuwmarkt towards Centraal. The full trip to central station is about 25 minutes, and shorter to most attractions. The trams and metro are very frequent and arrive about every 5-8 minutes. You can also purchase 1,2 or 3 day card directly at the Hotel's front desk to drive the buses, metro and tram lines with no hassle, which is very recommended. While there are no restaurants nearby, budget tourists will be glad to know that the hotel is very near a major retail supermarket ("Jumbo") which is very cheap (buy your fruits and water bottles there), and also an assortment of shops that sell flowers, candy, cheese and delicacies.

Service: Front desk staff fluent in English, kind and helpful. the desk is operated 24h.

Rooms: The rooms were modern and clean with a very large shower. Heating worked perfectly, variety of channels on the TV in many languages. Room cleaned and towels changed everyday. Very good sleep quality - slept like a baby. Notice though, there is no fridge is the room.

Breakfast: Complimentary breakfast was a very nice Continental Buffet which consisted of eggs (hard boiled), cereals, cheese, ham, pastries, fruits and vegetables, juices and yogurts. We never had to queue, but the breakfast area is a little small and we were visiting during the off-season. Only suggestion for improvement is giving a choice of scrambled eggs as well.

Overall value: For a hotel that offers rooms for under 100EUR a night, this was a good value-for-money experience. Will come back on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.