We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and great option if can't afford to stay in city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, Amsterdam 1081AP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    113
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
146
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we overnighted here between italy and flying home (usa). We wanted somewhere removed from the airport, and a bit nice. (if you're paying airport prices, then you might as well get something). It was a bit of a journey to get to the hotel via the tram, but it can be done. Note that if you're planning to get back to the airport via tram, then sort your tickets out while you're at the station, because there is no ticket window at the tram stop near the hotel. The ticket machines only take credit cards with chips in them, so your USA card won't work. Our outbound flight required us to be at the airport somewhat early, and we ended up taking a cab. It wasn't unreasonable, but it was far more than the tram.

The rooms are very nicely furnished, and the beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and modern. The breakfast served was complete, and we were able to find things to eat there (everyone is lactose intolerant in my family). Hotel staff are very helpful. Several nice restaurants nearby.

Not sure if I'll stay again because of the location. But only for that reason. The rest was spot-on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We are couple and we stayed here for 4 nights for new year eve! A really good hotel, always clean, really good breakfast and with kind staff! The hotel is really close to the metro and tram station, but a bit far from the city center ( 20 minutes by tram ). It really worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Was there 4 days 3 nights on business and found this new hotel was very clean and comfortable. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Near to supermarket so you could get anything you need. Just a bit far from town but train station just 5 mins away and bring you to town in 20 mins. The breakfast is lack of choice but expected with the price range in Amsterdam. Overall I like this hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

As usual holiday inn express gets it right. A little out of the city but with good metro and tram links metres from the hotel. If travelling from schiphol airport you can easily use public transport. Take the sprinter from the airport to amsterdam suid metro station then get the 5 tram or 51 metro to van boshuizenstraat where the hotel is close to the shops. There is a local supermarket and a couple of restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is clean, and modern. The showers in the practical rooms are to die for. Saw several members of staff and they were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental and good quality. TV has bbc 1 & 2, bbc world but several channels with films in english with subtitles. All in all a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay! We are very delighted with your valuable comments. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future. Please contact us via info.amsam@hiex.nl to get the best available rates.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here last Thursday before Christmas, and I took the train from Schiphol to Amsterdam Zuid. It cost 3 euros. From the station you can take the tram no 51 to the hotel which is located at the stop van Boshuizenstraat 3 stops away. When you exit the tram you see the hotel on the right 150-200 meters from the tram stop. I choose this hotel as I wanted to explore this area and I wanted to go for a run in the forest area called Amsterdamse Bos. This is a great area for jogging, running, cycling or just have a nice walk. At the tram stop there are 2 supermarkets, food stalls and I think it was 2 bakeries also. This means you can stock up on everything you need for your daily food and drinks.

The hotel is brand new from 2012 and it is very fresh and it is very clean. I was impressed by the furniture as this looked very nice and gave you a more "homely" feeling. It is stated in the hotel information brochure in the room that they have a business center, this is not in place yet. The food was basic HI express, but I like that they had boiled eggs. It is little more interesting than the normal scrambled egg version they usually serve in other hotels.
I could not open windows in my room which is always a pity. I like fresh air.

I received great service by Rachel, and the nightporter, I forgot his name now. If you going for the Amsterdam maraton in the autumn , this would be a very good choice as it is not so far away to the Amsterdam stadion where the maraton starts.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your effort to wright this valuable comment on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here again last week and great to see you are keeping up the service and standard.
Well done. Staff friendly as usual and good wi fi. Breakfast basic but has everything you need. Strange that we were not allowed a beer before 7pm - some licensing rule apparently. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to take the effort to write a second comment about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you have experienced that our high service is consistent and that you recommend our hotel to other guests. It is correct that we are not allowed to serve alcohol before 7PM because of the licensing rule unfortunately.

We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, Amsterdam 1081AP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.