We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    120
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
157
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the first time I've reviewed a hotel on day 2 of a 7-day stay. Based on the other reviews, I was expecting more. The hotel is new and close to the Metro, grocery and drug stores - just steps away. The wifi is free, which is great. The people are friendly and helpful, but I have to give this hotel low marks for some of the basics, like the sink doesn't drain and it takes a long time to get warm water just to shave. The soap dispensers barely dispense any soap. There are no drawers for clothing, so you have to live out of your suitcase. I have a presentation tomorrow and really need an iron. I asked around 6:30 p.m. thinking there would be a few available, but apparently they have 3 on the property and none available. For a tourist, this wouldn't be a big deal, but for a business traveler becomes a problem. Yes, I could have asked sooner, but just assumed that a hotel would have some on hand if not in the rooms. Now, all the stores are closed so I'm steaming clothes in the shower. As a Priority Club Gold member, I'm unimpressed (literally).

Room Tip: Grocery store, Dixon's and drug store very close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mr Randy,

First of all thank you very much for addressing your comments while you are still in the hotel, so we could support you directly. We would like to apologies for the long waiting time for the iron and iron board. At present we are expecting more irons and boards, so this problem should not occur again. As mentioned to you in the hotel, you may keep the iron until you check-out.

With regards to the maintenance issues, we will make sure this is looked into in this particular room and ensure a fixed solution. In addtion to your comments about missing drawers; the setup of the room is a brand standard for Holiday Inn Express. Intercontinental Hotel Group also offers hotels which may cater more to the needs of a guest that stays for 7 nights. However, these hotels are priced differently. We do have a lot of guests which stay longer then just 3 or 4 nights and are very happy with the setup of the room. It is all up to what is expected in the first place of course and Holiday Inn Express is marketed as a select service hotel; catering to what is really necessary for business and leisure travellers (good overnight experience, spacious shower, free wifi and a free breakfast) all at a fair price.

Again, many thanks for your comments and we hope you will be visiting many more Holiday Inn Express hotels in teh future. For any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

With best regards,

Bob Engeringh
(on behalf of the management team)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in this new and modern hotel in October 2012. It is about a half hour trip from airport via public transport. Tram/Metro stop is right next to hotel across the road. (van boshuizenstratt i think it is called) Location is ok. It is out of the central part of city and takes about 20 minutes to get into central. It is in a quiet area which suited me fine. Staff were very helpful on arrival and throughout my stay. All spoke very good English. Hotel has a restaurant and a little snack selection of rolls and drinks available at anytime. Breakfast was basic, ok if you are not too fussy but if you want a filling breakfast i would suggest heading into city. Rooms are nice and clean. TV with coffee making facilities. Good clean bathroom. Air condition. Overall perfect for what i wanted for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I were visiting friends in Amsterdam who recommended the hotel due to great feedback from their friends. It was a really location with lovely staff. They were all very friendly and service was brilliant.

We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was nice (Continental) and even offered for free to a guest of ours. We hired 2 of their bicycles which was reasonable at £12 a day.

Overall great little hotel close to airport and Amsterdam central!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hello I stayed at this hotel with my husband and daughter from 19th - 22nd October. The hotel is very new, rooms are slightly larger than other Holiday Inn Express hotels. Bathroom and shower also a good size. The staff were lovely and nothing was any bother. Fire alarm on Sunday morning due to someone trying to toast a sandwich in the toaster! The staff came round every table at breakfast and apologised to each guest. Metro is 100 m from the hotel and it is a pleasant 15 - 20 minute trip to city centre. Lovely peaceful location after a busy day exploring the city. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel opened her doors only 4 months ago, so everything is brand new and clean. Apparently they have slightly changed the Holiday Inn Express concept a bit, because the rooms are a little bigger, a little fancier and the bathroom most certainly is much better than you typically will find in HI Express hotels.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and welcoming, kuddos for them,

Nearby you will find 2 good restaurants and there is sufficient parking space. Parking fees can be payed at the reception (they charge it to your room). The only downside is that they don't have private parking spaces, so I would recommend removing all valuables from your car before going to sleep.

It is more aimed at business travellers, I guess, than at tourists, also because it's quite far from the city center.

But it is a good hotel and I recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for the Amsterdam Marathon, from 20/10/12 to 23/10/12 and all the staff, and especially Inge, could not be more helpful. The location is perfect, nice and quiet, yet only 100 yards from metro and tram stops, so all the touristy bits are no more than about 15 minutes away. There are also some great shops really nearby and are excellent and cheap (free at weekends) car parking. The rooms are spotless, really tastefully decorated and the shower is huge!
We so miss our hotel and everyone there, it made our trip really one of the best ever. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. When we come back for another visit to Amsterdam there is only one hotel we will be staying at. Thanks again to one and all, you were great!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.