We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“simply great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in both the Holiday Inn hotels in Amsterdam. What a refreshing product. Fantastic staff and comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms. Keep going this way! We will be back. The only issue was that we could not stay in the same hotel since the where fully booked. But I suppose that is what happens when many people want a great hotel.

Room Tip: be quick or they might be booked. Liked what happened to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    121
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
157
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
france
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this new holiday inn express several times since it opened this summer. Compaired to other holiday inn express hotel very nicely decorated.Rooms are very good. Flat screen, airco,wonderful big shower!!
Breakfast included but compaired to similar hotels a bit poor. Coffee!
We like to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel per se - it does exactly what it says it will. Having said that, it is not exceptional either because how exceptional can a Holiday Inn Express be? Staff are friendly and helpful. All fixtures & fittings are brand new. Generous shower cubicle, all-purpose soap/shampoo dispensers in the bathroom. Kettle, mugs and 2 sachets each of coffee, decaff. coffee, creamer, sugar, sweeteners and teabags per day. Complimentary toothbrush, razor, comb etc. available on request. There seemed to be a maximum of 4 brand new bicycles available to hire but at a fixed price of €15 per day, no half-day options, there were more attractive options in town (Mike's Bikes at €6 for 4 hours was our choice and no complaints there!). Breakfast is continental style as advertised so not as full as in UK HI Express which offers a hot option too. No hot breakfast food here except toast - even the boiled eggs were cool. Orange marmelade was lacking for our stay although there were other flavours: cherry, strawberry plus honey and nutty/chocolate spreads. Prepacked individualised cheese, ham and processed meats were a bit mass-produced in appearance but hygienic. Table space was at a premium at rush-hour. An unfortunate if sometimes hilarious one-off incident was the fire alarm at 0715 one morning, caused by burning toast we were told later; it would have been all over in seconds but triggered an open microphone at the front reception desk to broadcast everything that was being said there to all the rooms at loud volume/with intermittent squeals of feedback and took the staff over half an hour to find out how to switch it off. Location is a bit of a way out of the centre of course, 20 mins by Metro 51 and 30 mins by tram 5 to the Centraal Station. Both types travel on the same lines and stop at different ends of the same platform just 50 metres away. The hotel is not immediately obvious if arriving by Metro/tram but look for the building called Plaza BCC which coincidentally shares the same corporate blue & green colours as HI Express and you will find the hotel just behind it. There is a small shopping centre also adjacent including a good supermarket. It is not on a straightforward route from the airport either although this didn't matter to us as we were flying in early and heading straight to the centre first (plenty of luggage lockers for hire at Centraal Station). Return to the airport from the hotel is most direct by Metro 51 to Zuid Station, Metro 50 to Lelyaan and then the Sprinter train from there to Schiphol. We would stay again based on price, cleanliness and adjacent shopping and transport links but we might be tempted away by more central hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your comment and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the fire alarm we have taken action directly the same day. Due to a electrical failure the microphone kept open indeed. This has been repaired by the electrician. In case of a future fire alarm the microphone will be turned off automatically after the general evacuation broadcast. I sincerely apologize if you experienced any inconvenience due to this alarm.

All HI Express Hotels changes per region, taking into consideration the local, National, culture. This is indeed for in the UK a cooked breakfast, whereas in the Netherlands a boiled egg is served with the continental breakfast.

We are very much looking forward having you as one of our guests in the future. If so, please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel in short distance from city center. Pro: new and relatively cheap. Good continental breakfast incl. (weekend until 12.00). Quite a/c in room and great power shower. The bed mattresses could be more firmer but instead the pillows are very firm. Large, panoramic windows, possible to slightly open (for those who do not like a/c).

Service very good and attentive. Breakfast self service with dash of personal service from assistants (good job Mohamed). I would suggest to introduce trays and big trolleys for collection (to save time and space). Space of breakfast slightly cramped but manageable.

Good quality of products on breakfast esp. tea and coffee.

Reception team very attentive and helpful (thanks Sylvia for the umbrella-you saved our day).

Tram and metro stops just 200 yards from hotel (multi day pass for all public transport recommended -prices on www. gvb.nl website).

Overall highly recommend for those seeking no frills accommodation in close proximity to Amsterdam City Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was the nicest hotel we stayed in on a 10 day tour. We paid 99 Euros a day and this included a very good breakfast. The staff were especially helpful at all times. I did find the bed was too soft for me as I like a firm bed however my wife was very happy with it. Lots of fresh clean towels and an excellent bathroom with very good shower and complimentary shower gel. The room was a very good size and very clean. All in all an excellent hotel for visiting Amsterdam. The tram stop was 100 meters from the hotel and took 15 minutes to get to town I believe a 24 hour tram ticket cost 8 Euros a day but we bought a 3 day pass for 16 Euros. Car parking was 10 Euros a day which the hotel organised when checking in. Tip, visit the House of Bols for a cocktail experience, well worth the 12.5 Euro cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had stayed at this quite, neighborhood style hotel for 4 night, together with our two kids. The hotel is brand new, modern designed, rooms are big and spacious with big windows overlooking the neighborhood. All staff members were at all times willing to help and be of assistance. The hotel is located around 8 km out of the city center, but both train and tram station are within 2 minutes walk. Around the hotel there is a supermarket and little local restaurants. Very pleasent, intimate stay at this lovely hotel. Most recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is locate in a very nice and quiet neigbourhood, walking distance from all kosher restaurants, bakery and supermarket with kosher products.
The hotel serves a kosher breakfast with halav israel.
My only complain is I asked one of the staff to make the spring of the door softer, because I walk with sticks and it was hard for me to open the door as it was, the manager answered that they cannot do it because the maintenance specialist is in holiday for 3 weeks, and nobody knows how to do it, (a very poor and not reasonable excuse).
Beside this, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the friendly service of the front desk, especially Sylvia.

Room Tip: There is no cupboard in the room, so don't take clothes from suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciated your stay and are glad you returned home safely.

It is within the rules and regulations for fire safety that we cannot undo any ledges which hold can give any potential risk to your and other guests safety. It was a fact that our engineer was on a holiday, however this was not the reason that we could not help you. I am terrible sorry for this inconvenience. For future means please inform us accordingly if you have special request. We do have a hotel room for our disabled guest, which was perhaps more to your needs. However this room was occupied already.

I am most sorry you were misinformed about this fact.

Yours sincerely,



Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.