We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel in short distance from city center. Pro: new and relatively cheap. Good continental breakfast incl. (weekend until 12.00). Quite a/c in room and great power shower. The bed mattresses could be more firmer but instead the pillows are very firm. Large, panoramic windows, possible to slightly open (for those who do not like a/c).

Service very good and attentive. Breakfast self service with dash of personal service from assistants (good job Mohamed). I would suggest to introduce trays and big trolleys for collection (to save time and space). Space of breakfast slightly cramped but manageable.

Good quality of products on breakfast esp. tea and coffee.

Reception team very attentive and helpful (thanks Sylvia for the umbrella-you saved our day).

Tram and metro stops just 200 yards from hotel (multi day pass for all public transport recommended -prices on www. gvb.nl website).

Overall highly recommend for those seeking no frills accommodation in close proximity to Amsterdam City Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    148
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
171
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was the nicest hotel we stayed in on a 10 day tour. We paid 99 Euros a day and this included a very good breakfast. The staff were especially helpful at all times. I did find the bed was too soft for me as I like a firm bed however my wife was very happy with it. Lots of fresh clean towels and an excellent bathroom with very good shower and complimentary shower gel. The room was a very good size and very clean. All in all an excellent hotel for visiting Amsterdam. The tram stop was 100 meters from the hotel and took 15 minutes to get to town I believe a 24 hour tram ticket cost 8 Euros a day but we bought a 3 day pass for 16 Euros. Car parking was 10 Euros a day which the hotel organised when checking in. Tip, visit the House of Bols for a cocktail experience, well worth the 12.5 Euro cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had stayed at this quite, neighborhood style hotel for 4 night, together with our two kids. The hotel is brand new, modern designed, rooms are big and spacious with big windows overlooking the neighborhood. All staff members were at all times willing to help and be of assistance. The hotel is located around 8 km out of the city center, but both train and tram station are within 2 minutes walk. Around the hotel there is a supermarket and little local restaurants. Very pleasent, intimate stay at this lovely hotel. Most recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is locate in a very nice and quiet neigbourhood, walking distance from all kosher restaurants, bakery and supermarket with kosher products.
The hotel serves a kosher breakfast with halav israel.
My only complain is I asked one of the staff to make the spring of the door softer, because I walk with sticks and it was hard for me to open the door as it was, the manager answered that they cannot do it because the maintenance specialist is in holiday for 3 weeks, and nobody knows how to do it, (a very poor and not reasonable excuse).
Beside this, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, the friendly service of the front desk, especially Sylvia.

Room Tip: There is no cupboard in the room, so don't take clothes from suitcase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciated your stay and are glad you returned home safely.

It is within the rules and regulations for fire safety that we cannot undo any ledges which hold can give any potential risk to your and other guests safety. It was a fact that our engineer was on a holiday, however this was not the reason that we could not help you. I am terrible sorry for this inconvenience. For future means please inform us accordingly if you have special request. We do have a hotel room for our disabled guest, which was perhaps more to your needs. However this room was occupied already.

I am most sorry you were misinformed about this fact.

Yours sincerely,



Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've just arrived back and already feel obligated to thank the wonderful staff and hotel manager!!- we stayed at the hotel for a week with our two daughters 6,8 From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel the service was perfect!-friendly and helpful staff Great service from a free breakfast to help with printing our tickets to an amusement park we ordered last minute and needed to print anything asked was met with a smile and helpfull information. The rooms were comfortable clean and well designed -cleaning service was great to. Located a half minute walk from a main tram/metro station that will take you strait to the center of it all in no more then 10 min trip-and still stay in a green calm spot For any jewish /shabbes observing Jew this hotel is a perfect choice since it's located right in the center of anything u might need and the hotel is well provided with anything to help ur stay an easier one from kosher breakfast to a card to place for the cleaning service on shabbat to leave your choice of lighting as it is..-thought out to small details! We will defiantly return and advice anyone looking for a great place to stay in Amsterdam To book this great place!:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I missed my flight in Amsterdam and ending up staying at this hotel, although it is expensive to get to the hotel via cab, we took the train over and had a great stay. The staff is super friendly. They even pre packaged a breakfast for us for our early flight we had

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room is a good size, with basic standard of fittings. The bed is way too soft, the pillows an unusual shape. Everything is fairly new and in good order. The bathroom is good size and functions well. Bathroom supplies are basic multi-purpose pump bottle.

The breakfast is basic, but nice. Most things are individually packaged, so no problems with freshness.

Value is good, compared to the central Amsterdam hotels. The cost of parking is a signficant factor for inner Amsterdam hotels. Here, parking is free for the weekend. Service was very good. It is very quiet and dark, so sleep is good (except the soft bed).

The big negative is the location. It takes 20 minutes, plus walking and waiting time to get to the Centre of the city. The means popping into the hotel for a rest or out for a quick drink is not an option. In hindsight, we would pay the extra for the city stay, as it really impacted on the experience for a short visit (2 night). I would prefer to save the money in other areas (say on meals) next time and find a cheap parking solution.

My wife had issues with the smell of dogs in the hallway. The room was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am very sorry to read that you found the bed to soft. If the reception staff was aware of your discomfort we could have made your stay more comfortable by taking initiative to resolve your issue. We are very proud about our breakfast and stimulate freshness of our foods and hygiene.

Please be informed that we do not allow any pets in our hotel, except guide dogs for our vision impaired guests (which so far since the opening we did not had any requests for). As mentioned we like to keep an high comfort of hygiene in our hotel.

For your future booking please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl for your booking enquiry.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.